150 visitors came to enjoy, reminisce and share ideas about the shops that used to be part of the community of Newlyn many years ago and those that still are today. The exhibition was made easy to follow by a colour coding system and resembled a virtual tour of Newlyn. It was fascinating to see the profound changes that had taken place. Basket makers, boatbuilders, potters and coopers were all represented together with a wide range of shops selling quality clothing, antiques, oilskins, meat, fish, farm produce and ice cream. Lloyds bank, a chemist, Vi’s hairdresser and the wonderful Gaiety cinema were talked about and remembered with interest and affection.
Quotations from the visitors book: “A wonderful exhibition “; “excellent to reminisce”.
Thanks to Diane for arranging the meet and greet team; to Pam Lomax and Sue Newton for their professional and informative boards; to Brian Newton for the media component and to the archive committee for making the open day such a success.
Above: Members of the Laura Knight Society on the Cliff, Newlyn The Newlyn Archive hosted a group of 32 members of Dame Laura Knight Society from Malvern, on Thursday 16/5/2019. The Society wanted to visit the houses of artists associated with Laura Knight and three stalwart Friends of the Archive (Ron Hogg, Andrew Gordon and Richard Cockram) led three walks that took off at 15 minute intervals from Wheal Betsy. Wheal Betsy was an appropriate place to start. Built by Thomas and Caroline Gotch in 1910 the Knights had moved into the Gotches’ previous home at Trewarveneth when the latter moved to Wheal Betsy. Both families had come to Newlyn in 1906 and Phyllis Gotch and Laura Knight became close friends, being of a similar age. Pam Lomax made the introductions and was able to wet appetites by reading a letter written by Phyllis Gotch to Laura Knight in July 1906, which described a dinner that was held at Penzer House where Mrs Beer was landlady. Left: Two groups cross on their walk to the Artists’ houses Fortunately it was a down-hill walk. 13 Artists Houses were identified: Wheal Betsy, La Pietra, Malt House, Orchard Cottage, Mount Vernon, Boase Castle, Penzer House, Myrtle Cottage, Meadow Studios, North Corner, Rue de Beaux Arts, Joel and Keel Alley. From there, the groups walked to the Boathouse. Ron, Andrew and Richard shared some of the knowledge we have in the West Cornwall Art Archive about artists’ houses. Richard reported ‘my group asked plenty of questions, some of which I could answer thanks to Ron’s notes’. Ron said that he had recounted Laura Knight’s story of coming home to Penzer and finding Alfred Munnings comfortably settled in one of the armchairs. Munnings had said, ‘Mrs Beer has let me a bedroom and says I can share your sitting room and have meals with you’. Apparently, Harold Knight was not amused! In the Meadow all the groups were invited into the studio of artist Virginia ‘Ginnie’ Bounds, who is currently resident in Stanhope Forbes Anchor Studio, which once house the Forbes School of painting and is said to have the original anchor from Forbes famous painting outside. The walk ended at the Admiralty Boathouse where Sean Perrott and Helen Burnham and their team of Friends were waiting. Brian Newton had made a short film with extracts from different films about Laura Knight held in the archive. Sean and Helen said that ‘the Boathouse became alive with the arrival of the first group of the Laura Knight Society members. More arrived later, some a little tired after their walk, but all interested in looking through the folders or enjoying the excellent film show. There were plenty of questions, not only relating to the collections, but also to the restoration of the Boathouse. A great many signed our Boathouse Diary. It was a very enjoyable morning.’
On the first sunny day of Spring 60 Friends of the Archive and invited guests, varying in age from eight to eighty, enjoyed a rare visit to the Tidal Observatory on the South Pier. Four visits took place on the day, with only three or four people allowed inside at any one time, since this Grade II listed building is still fulfilling a vital scientific purpose after nearly 100 years of operation.
Originally built in 1915, and equipped to establish Mean Sea Level, the Observatory now provides one of the longest continuous records of sea levels in the world, essential for studies of climate change.
For much of its existence the Observatory was run and maintained by local people, though nowadays it is automatic. For the visitors, seeing the Observatory for themselves was a perfect complement to reading about it in the book published last year. An added bonus was that the tour guides were Richard Cockram and Ron Hogg, two of the authors of the book.
Before the South Pier was built the area around Green Slip was used by the local boatbuilders and shipwrights such as Francis Hitchen. The two buildings at the bottom of the slip were known as the upper boathouse and the lower boathouse. In due course the upper and lower boathouse were used by the renowned sail maker JH Francis.
Figure: 34 PZ in front of old boathouse on the Green Slip before the South Pier was built
The following letter to the editor of the Cornishman says it all.
Sir, − Reading your paper I see a lot of old Cornish words and amongst them the ‘timmy noggy’ of a Mount’s Bay boat; a piece of wood with notches in it, for the ‘vargouard’ to rest on. This vargouard has been done without in some boats these 33 years. The boat New Tar, of Newlyn belonging to Mr Trahair of Newlyn, was the first boat that had a sail cut by JH Francis, sail-maker. Mr JH Francis was the sail-maker who cut the first lug-sail, to set without a vargouard, in Mount’s Bay. Cornishmsn, June 5, 1879.
The Archive has re-published with some corrections and minor alterations its very successful first publication, Newlyn at War. The price has risen since the first edition, but it is still only £8 and would make a wonderful Christmas present in this year devoted to remembering the horrors of war.
A new picture in the book shows Sid and Bert Perrott with Mary and Amy Hichens on Newlyn Green Beach with the barbed wire fence of wartime clearly visible behind. Seymour Cooke who joined the Duke of Cornwall’s Light Infantry and helped construct the beach defences, claimed that the longest run of barbed wire was from Newlyn Harbour to Marazion.
On Saturday 24 November 2018 the Community Fund Team from our local Co-op invited members of the Archive to join them to celebrate receiving the final payment raised for the Archive. This amount is the Archive’s share of the fund sponsored by the Co-op. The money is raised by the Co-op giving 1% of the amount their members spend.
The Archive very much appreciates having been chosen as a beneficiary of the fund. The final amount is a remarkable £9,639.80. The money is being used to enable us to share our resources with the local community.
On Wednesday 21st November 2018, the Newlyn Archive hosted a group of students from Cape Cornwall School along with their teachers and the author JR Carpenter. They came as part of the Dark Sky Bright Stars project organized by Joanna Mays to learn about researching topics, such as navigation, and to experience the workings of an Archive
After lunch at Trinity and a short film about the Mystery projected by Brian Newton, the students walked down the hill to the Boathouse where Ron Hogg showed them ‘the anchor fouled’, the Admiralty symbol carved in stone at the corner of the Boathouse. Inside the Boathouse, Sue Newton pointed out different aspects of the building and briefly explained how an archive operates. Pam Lomax had prepared two displays of archive material, one to show the role of the Boathouse when it housed the rocket wagon and the other to illustrate the route the Mystery took via Cape Town to Melbourne.
After the introduction, the students were divided into two groups. Ron Hogg explained how the rocket system had worked and Peter Morgan explained about navigation and how the Mystery had made its journey navigating by the stars. The students seemed totally engaged and were fascinated by some of the old documents they were shown. They surprised their tutors by the detailed knowledge they had about some of the events, such as shipwrecks.
‘Having been married to a primary school teacher for over 40 years’, Peter Morgan said, ‘I feel well qualified to judge the behaviour of primary school children, and the children from Cape Cornwall must be amongst the best behaved that I have ever met. Well ordered, well dressed, well behaved and with sensible questions and interested attention to their subject. I was impressed, and their teachers and families can be very proud of them.’
On October 15, 2018 Richard Cockram, Ron Hogg and Brian Newton visited the new location to which the Cornwall Record Office will be transferring in 2019. The photo on the left shows the team with the building in the background
Kresen Kernow – or Cornwall Centre – will be an amazing new base for the Cornwall Archive, the Studies Library and the Cornwall and Scilly Historic Environment Record when they are brought together for the first time in April next year. The historic Redruth Brewery building at the heart of the Cornish Mining World Heritage Site is being converted to house the world’s largest collection of manuscripts, books and documents related to Cornwall. When we visited in mid-October, we were confidently informed that building works would be completed by Christmas and the miles of shelves would be filled and ready to be accessed by April 2019 – it was hard to believe! Filling any gaps in our own Archive will be far quicker and easier. There will also be a cafe on site for weary researchers. Ron Hogg
The site is that of the disused brewery at the lower end of Redruth and quite near the Tesco store. A high standard has been adopted for external finishes and materials used to compliment and blend in with the existing old buildings. Work inside continues apace and there are miles of cable and wiring looms hanging in great loops waiting to be run along their cable trays and connected up. There has been extensive thought given to the future requirements regarding storage capacity and two very large rooms arranged with high capacity travelling shelving installed. Extremely sensitive smoke alarms will be fitted, and the rooms have only one entrance and no windows; temperature and humidity control of a high standard is included. There is much to say but suffice to say here that we can be well assured that design and planning to a very high level has been applied throughout by the CRO team.
On the weekend that brought us Storm Callum, the Archive held its final Open Day of 2018, representing 15 families with varying histories and occupations. There were 91 visitors, many with connections to the families displayed including a couple from Marazion who came in to shelter from the rain to find the wife in one of the photos on display.
The display began with the story of the voyage of The Mystery and the mariners who sailed to Australia in 1854 with lots to learn about the Kelynack and Badcock families. There was next an exploration of a Huguenot connection with the Rouffignac family. A wonderful depiction of the basket making Wallis family told the story of father and son including a lovely transcript of an original interview and photos of their craft which eventually came to an end in 1975. A colourful series of boards highlighted the artists from Lamorna, the Birch/Kerr connection, and a description of the place being ‘almost something unworldly’. This was followed by an inspiring display featuring the philanthropic Bolitho family and next the Batten brothers who played rugby for Newlyn. Finally the blue-eyed Harveys, described as tall and handsome, featuring photos of Annie, grandmother of our own Linda Holmes brought the exhibition to a close. The raffle of the print of ‘Ring a Roses’ by Elizabeth Forbes drew many participants and the winner, drawn by Julian Drew, was Peter Morgan. Wonderful archive films were being shown, courtesy of Brian Newton, covering subjects from the Voyage of The Mystery to the comedian Jethro relating anecdotes about his own family.
Thanks to David and Diane Tredinnick who were selling books on local topics and the ‘Meet and Greet’ team : Helen Burnham, Judith Porter and Maryla Perrot for helping monitor visitor numbers and enabling the whole event to run smoothly. Thanks also to Pam Lomax and Sue Newton for assembling such a comprehensive and fascinating display. And thanks finally to all those who worked together to create a successful Open Day.
Historic England and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) recently visited the Newlyn Tidal Observatory to make a preliminary assessment of the building’s case to be granted listed status. That assessment is now proceeding at the regional office of Historic England in Bristol and Richard Cockram has provided the office with a copy of the new Newlyn Archive book, the Newlyn Tidal Observatory, which we believe documents all the information needed to make the case for listed building status.
Historic England is a public body of the Government sponsored by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport. It is tasked with protecting the historical environment of England by preserving and listing historic buildings and ancient monuments. We expected to receive a copy of the consultation report, detailing the history and description of the building. Once the report is circulated there is a 21 day period for consultation. Following this, the finalised report is submitted to the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport who will make the final decision. The Archive was very pleased that its book was proving to be so influential, yet the latest information is even more pleasing. We will shortly receive a copy of a revised consultation report; after discussing the case Historic England have decided to include the lighthouse and the part of the South Pier beneath the observatory in the assessment. After all, the stilling well in the pier is ‘where the magic happens’!
It has been very difficult to select material to feature in this Newlyn Archive Open Day Exhibition because so many families have been the backbone of our towns, Newlyn and Lamorna. We have selected material from large collections that have been given to the archive about particular families. Thanks go to the donors of this material. Alongside the exhibition there will be our collection of family files for you to look at and our family expert Diane Donohue to consult. You can also see the remarkable film sequences that Brian Newton has put together for this occasion about family life and community. Roger Nowel will feature along with the Le Grice family, a wedding in the Cornish language, and much more. You can also listen to some of the tapes we have in the archive made by people featured in the Exhibition. All this is possible because of the new equipment that the archive has been able to purchase through the generosity of the Cooperative Society who have raised a remarkable £2000+ for us
At the top, we show June Hicks’ lovely picture of the basket maker because the Wallis Family of basket makers are one the families we have chosen to feature in the exhibition. Basket making was an important local industry until modern technologies replaced it in the 20th century. A second family is the Batten family. There were five generations of Benjamin Green Battens. Originally, they were fishermen but later writers and poets. We have focused on Benjamin Green Batten (1890-1941) who was one of the crew of the Newlyn long-liner PZ 87 Rosebud that sailed to Westminster with a petition against the demolition of Newlyn houses, and died at sea in 1941, and also on his remarkable wife Phillis Glasson Richards (1891-1974).
The Lamorna Board highlights the Law and Humphrey families. Penny Law and her brother, the artist, Denys Law, regularly holidayed in Lamorna when they were children. When Penny was a young woman staying at the Green Bungalow, below the Lamorna Mill, she met Morgan Humphrey, Landlord of the Wink, and in 1936 they were married. As a child, their daughter Judy often visited Flagstaff Cottage where she was presented with three water-colour miniatures for her dolls’ house by Lamorna Birch. You can see copies of these at the Exhibition.
Finally we have the family links to those who sailed on the Mystery to Australia in 1854. The families are: Kelynack, Badcock, and Nicholls, and the families Rouffignac, Carter, Peake, Cotton and Harvey who interconnect by marriage and through the generations. Their descendants are with us today. The Captain of the Mystery was a Master Mariner and the trades of some of the interconnecting families show other mariners, boat builders and fishermen. There is also a connection with the artist Henry Scott Tuke in his paintings.
Ruth Simpson welcoming Elizabeth Bolitho to the Open Day ‘Fishing at Newlyn’, 11th February 2010
We are very sad to announce the death of Ruth Simpson, MBE, who was largely responsible for the formation of the Newlyn Archive. Having served as Penzance Mayor for the year 2002-2003, Ruth was asked to serve as chairman of the Newlyn Environment Group, part of the Newlyn Fishing Industry Forum. It was from this group that the Newlyn Archive grew. As chairman of the Environment Group Ruth led the project to map the port which led to the publication of a popular booklet, ‘Newlyn’s Water’, edited by Pamela Lomax and published in 2007. At the end of the project there was some original documentation about water features in Newlyn and a pot of unspent money. The decision was taken to establish a Newlyn Archive, and the money was spent on a laptop, software and other items. Pam Lomax was elected honorary archivist and a committee was elected. Continue reading “Sylvia Ruth Simpson MBE”
It was fitting that one-time Ordnance Survey man Ray Lloyd represented the Newlyn Fish Festival in 2018, the year the festival was cancelled due to major renovation work in the harbour. Ray decided he would represent the Fish Festival so that its record should remain unbroken since it started, and the Harbour master sympathised and gave Ray the spot to erect his stall.
Continue reading “Newlyn Fish Festival 2018”
The Newlyn Tidal Observatory
Compiled by Richard Cockram, Linda Holmes, Ron Hogg and Frank Iddiols
Edited by P Lomax
Published by Newlyn Archive 2018
Continue reading “The Newlyn Tidal Observatory”
On Friday 22 June 2018 the Wherrytown Co-op hosted a fund raising event selling cakes and running a tombola to raise awareness of the three local charities they are supporting of which the Archive is one. Continue reading “Thank you Wherrytown Co-op”
There were 138 visitors to this open day, ‘Getting There and Getting Back’, and it was very enthusiastically received. Many conversations could be heard of people remembering times gone by and how things were ‘back then’. A number of people brought interesting material and information for the archive to add to its collection. As well as local visitors, it was good to see so many members of the Lamorna Society. Continue reading “Open Day 16 June 2018”
This Open Day looks at the role of transport in enabling business to progress.
How did the fish that was landed get to people’s tables?
‘From Luggers to Jousters’ shows the fish being transported from the Luggers to the beach by Bummers (Bumboats), where the jousters, fishwives and dealers would be waiting: the fishwives to load their cawls and for the traders to take the fish to Penzance Station by horse and cart.
Later, fleets lorries transported fish from the fish market to far-away destinations .
Continue reading “Open Day, Saturday 16 June 2018 10 am to 3 pm: Getting There and Back, transporting goods and people.”
This was a popular well attended Open Day celebrating the bravery of the RNLI volunteers from the late 19th century through to the present day. Visitors from Mousehole also presented their own boards and an excellent exhibition. There was in addition a separate display concerning the Ocean Pride restoration project. Continue reading “Open Day: Resue at Sea. March 24 2018 10am – 3pm”
The lifeboat Elizabeth and Blanche 2 returns to Newlyn Harbour after the rescue of the full crew of 13 men from the Norwegian barque Saluto, which was blown ashore near Porthleven on December 13, 1911. This is one of many stories told at the next Newlyn Archive Open Day on Saturday 24 March 2018 at Trinity Centre Newlyn.
Continue reading “Archive Open Day, March 24, 2018”
The dark green wooden shop located in the centre of Newlyn close to the War Memorial is no longer in existence. On Monday 5 February 2018 the demolition men arrived and by late afternoon on 7 February 2018 David Barron’s shop had disappeared.
Generations of Newlyners bought their sweets, cigarettes, magazines, papers and much more from the shop for as long as almost anyone can remember. The shop was set up by David’s father, Jonce Barron, in 1920 and David took over from him for a few days when his father was ill. Fifty odd years later the shop was finally closed. Continue reading “A sad farewell to David Barron’s Shop”
During the Second World War the Navy developed a new technology to find enemy submarines underwater. This was called ‘ASDIC’, and was based on the understanding that sound signals could be transmitted into the water and any echo would be heard if the sound wave hit a solid enough target. The echo could be detected by a hydrophone and displayed on a suitable display screen, showing distance from sound source to sound echo and also the direction that the sound source was sent away. Continue reading “New at the Archive: Fishfinders”
The photograph shows the Newlyn Harbour Badge 1884.
The Harbour Master’s Archive is one of the great treasures of the Newlyn Archive. It is the collection of records kept by the Harbour Masters at Newlyn since they first took office in 1884. Some of the material in this archive is older, such as the old document headed ‘Manor of Godrevy, Newlyn Pier Constitution, 1660’ and ‘Henry Kelynack, his book, Penzance 1851’.
A summary of the contents of the harbour logs is available on request.
Boats in Newlyn harbour broke from their moorings as the seas rolled over both piers. It was the worst storm in living memory. The Penzance sea defences were critically breached, the promenade ruined and homes all along the front from the bathing pool to Newlyn’s Tolcarne awash.
Extreme weather conditions are only part of this collection of material about major events in Newlyn. It also includes historic events such as the Spanish Raid of 1595, the cholera outbreak of the 1830s and the Newlyn Riots of 1896, and more recent major events such as Royal Visits. The catalogue is set out by the date of the event.
The collage above celebrates the final opening of the Boathouse in 2017, when Friends of the Archive provided light refreshments for visitors and there was some mulled wine on hand. We were closed for a Christmas break from 22nd December until 2nd January but are now in full swing again.
Continue reading “Happy New Year 2018”
The Film Archive is an eclectic mix of old newsreel, home video, feature films and documentaries with a focus on Newlyn, Lamorna and West Cornwall Art. It includes films on the fishing industry and the harbour as well as other industries, past and present. There are films about leisure activities, storms and events, art and artists, and feature films that used Newlyn and the surrounding area as film locations.
The Newlyn Archive is always willing to accept any donated film footage, in any format, for copying and inclusion into the Archive
The Audio Archive is a collection of recorded interviews and other material, some dating back thirty years or more. Many aspects of Cornish life are represented including working in the quarry, as a fisherman, at war, school, running a business, and living through the Newlyn clearances and the riots. We also have poetry recitals, comic tales, and music and song from choirs and individuals.
The Newlyn Archive is always willing to accept any donated audio footage, in any format, for copying and inclusion into the Archive.
The Association shall be called The Newlyn Archive.
OBJECTS The objectives of the Association shall be to collect, preserve, store and share written, pictorial and oral materials relating to the history of Newlyn; to provide a weekly opening for visitors to share information, donate documents or consult the archive; to hold periodic open days when there are films, photographic displays, competitions and activities in which old and young can participate and become involved with the archive; to provide a service to people from further afield through which information can be exchanged by email, letter or telephone so that the resources of the archive are shared with the widest community associated with Newlyn.
(a) The association is a voluntary organisation of Friends of the Newlyn Archive and is open to individuals and organisations who submit their wish to become a Friend or a Corporate Friend.
(b) The Committee has the right to refuse membership as they see fit. The reasons for refusal will be given in writing to the applicant.
There will be an annual subscription and a life subscription. These will be set at £5 Annual Friendship and £100 Life Friendship. An increase in the subscription should be brought to the attention of the AGM and agreed by the membership before being implemented the following year.
ADMINISTRATION (a) The affairs of the Newlyn Archive shall be managed by a Committee consisting of:
(i) Three officers: a Chairperson, a Treasurer and a Secretary (ii) Six ordinary Committee Members (iii) One committee member nominated by Trinity Centre (iv) The archivist shall be ex officio
(v) Up to three co‐opted members at the discretion of the Committee, as and when required
(b) The Committee members shall be proposed, seconded and elected by ballot at an Annual Meeting of Friends of the Archive each year and shall remain in office until their successors are elected at the next Annual General Meeting. Any vacancy occurring by resignation or otherwise may be filled by the Committee. Retiring members of the Committee shall be eligible for re‐election.
(c) The Annual General Meeting, if it thinks fit, may elect a President and Vice‐Presidents.
(a) Committee meetings shall be held not less than quarterly subject to not less than seven days notice of a meeting.
(b) The quorum of the meeting shall be 3 including at least one officer
(c) Decisions of the Committee shall be made by a simple majority and in the event of equality of votes the Chairperson or the acting Chairperson of that meeting shall have an additional casting vote.
(d) The proceedings of all meetings shall be minuted.
The Committee may from time to time appoint from among their number such sub‐committees as they may consider necessary, and may delegate to them such of the powers and duties of the Committee as the Committee members may determine. All sub‐committees shall periodically report their proceeding to the Committee and shall conduct their business in accordance with the directions of the Committee. Officers may be members ex officio of all such sub‐committees,
Annual General Meeting (a) The Annual General Meeting of the Association shall be held each year to transact the following business:—
(i) To receive the Chairperson’s report of the activities of the Association during the previous year (ii) To receive audited accounts of the Association for the previous year, and the Treasurer’s report as to the financial position of the Association (iii) To elect the Officers and other members of the Committee; (iv) To decide on any resolution which may be duly submitted in accordance with Rule 9
(b) Nominations for election of members to any office shall be made in writing by the proposer and seconder to the Secretary not less than 14 days before the Annual General Meeting.
(c) Notice of any resolution proposed to be moved at the Annual General Meeting shall be given in writing to the Secretary not less than 14 days before the meeting
Special General Meeting
A special General Meeting may be called at any time by the Committee and it shall be called within 28 days of receipt by the Secretary of a requisition in writing signed by not less than three members stating the purpose for which the meeting is required and the resolutions proposed.
Procedure at the Annual and Special General Meetings
(a) The Secretary shall send to each member at his/her last known address notice of the date of the General Meeting together with the resolutions to be proposed thereat at least 14 days before the meeting.
(b) The quorum for the Annual and Special General Meetings shall be 3.
(c) The Chairperson, or in his/her absence a member selected by the Committee shall take the chair. Each member present shall have one vote and resolutions shall be passed by a simple majority. In the event of an equality of votes the Chairperson shall have a casting vote.
(d) The Secretary, or in his/her absence a member of the Committee, shall take minutes at Annual and Special General Meetings.
(e) Voting rights: An individual Friend or a Corporate Friend shall have one vote Alteration of the Rules
The rules may be altered by resolution at an Annual or Special General Meeting provided that the resolution is carried by a majority of at least two‐thirds of Friends present at the General Meeting.
The Committee shall have power to make, repeal and amend such bye‐laws as they may from time to time consider necessary for the well being of the Association, which bye‐laws, repeals, and amendments shall have effect until set aside by the Committee or at a General Meeting.
(a) All monies payable to the Association shall be received by the Treasurer and deposited in a bank account in the name of the Association. No sum shall be drawn from that account except by cheque signed by the Treasurer and one other signatory nominated by the Committee. Any moneys not required for immediate use may be invested as the Committee in their discretion think fit.
(b) The income and property of the Association shall be applied only in furtherance of the objects of the Association and no part thereof shall be paid by way of bonus, dividend or profit to any members of the Association, save as set out in Rule 13(c).
(c) The Committee shall have power to authorise the payment of remuneration and expense to any officer, member or employee of the Association and to any other person or persons for services rendered to the Association.
(d) The financial transactions of the Association shall be recorded in a proper set of accounts by the Treasurer.
(a) A resolution to dissolve the Association shall only be proposed at a Special General Meeting and shall only be carried by a majority of at least three‐quarters of the Friends present.
(b) The dissolution shall take effect from the date of the resolution and the members of the Committee shall be responsible for the winding‐up of the assets and liabilities of the Association.
(c) In the event of the organisation winding up, any assets remaining after payment of debts should be given to another charitable or not for profit group with similar aims.
The photo was taken in the garden after a tour of the house where they learned how Leonard and Virginia Woolf’s search for a country retreat for Virginia’s sister, Vanessa Bell, had led them to Charleston with the result that Vanessa and her family, together with Duncan Grant and his partner David Garnett took the lease of the house in 1916.
This old etching of Lamorna Cove showing Lamorna Granite Quarries is dated February 4, 1859.
The original was donated to the archive by George Hoare. The archive contains some interesting material about the quarries at Lamorna and about the Freeman family who at one time exported granite from the quay at Lamorna to Westminster for the embankment there.
One of the first artists associated with the Newlyn Colony of Artists to visit Newlyn was Thomas Cooper Gotch. He first visited in 1879 and stayed with William Henry Tonkin who is the subject of the painting to the left (archive reference 733) which was painted by an unknown artist, probably Gotch.
This part of the archive contains material about the artists and their families associated with Newlyn before WW1, including biographies, books, catalogues, family papers, films, offprints, paintings, photos, posters, letters and theses.
This part of the archive is expanding as we include research materials donated by scholars and authors of books and theses about the Newlyn School of Artists.
Download the PDF
In the 1970s Peter Ellery and Barbara Wooton made a variety of pottery at the bottom of Norrad Slip in premises rented from the Stevenson family and previously occupied by Mullion Stores. The photograph to the left (archive reference 3640) shows the entrance to the Tremaen Pottery which had the showrooms upstairs.
Newlyn has a fascinating history of Arts and Crafts; besides pottery there was copper, jewellery, sculpture, textiles, and many other crafts. The most well-known was the Newlyn Art Metal Industry which emerged from the Industrial classes set up by some of the early Newlyn artists for the benefit of young fishermen. The Newlyn Art Metal Industry shop at one time occupied premises in New Road. This part of the archive consists of articles, cards, exhibition details, guidebooks, invitations, leaflets, letters, lists, photos, posters, programmes and reports. There is also much information in the separate cuttings archive.
Download the PDF
Bernard Evans lived in Newlyn and this painting was one of many that he made of its fish industry. The painting to the left (archive reference 3663) depicts women at work for the Cornish Canners which was Shippam’s Factory on the Strand which closed in 1988.
Bernard Evans represents one of a long tradition of Newlyn Artists who have been involved with the Newlyn Society of Artists which was founded by members of the earlier Newlyn Colony. Today many artists work in Newlyn. This part of the archive documents the history of artists in Newlyn since WW1. It contains books, cards, DVDs, invitations to private views, prints and photos and is growing daily as material from the West Cornwall Art Archive is integrated into the catalogue.
Download the PDF
John Passmore Edwards commissioned the building of an art gallery at Newlyn in 1895 on land that was given by Charles D N Le Grice. The drawing to the left (archive reference 903) shows the original intention of the architect James Hicks of Redruth, although his plans were modified before the building was completed.
The WCAA contains material about Art Resources and the Art Galleries associated with West Cornwall, most importantly the Newlyn Art Gallery (NAG), Penlee House, Falmouth Art Gallery and Galleries in St. Ives. There is information about the activities, exhibitions and people associated with these galleries, such as the Newlyn Society of Artists (NSA). There is also a list of major exhibitions held elsewhere that have featured West Cornwall Artists. A great deal of the material related to this topic came from the West Cornwall Art Archive bequest and consists of articles, cards , cuttings, exhibition details, guidebooks, invitations, leaflets, letters, lists, photos, posters, programmes and reports.
The image shows Thomas Cooper Gotch as the Green Knight from Elizabeth Forbes book, King Arthur’s Wood (archive reference 1103). The Art Archive has two main sections: one about the artists and crafts people associated with West Cornwall and the other about the art framework within which they operated.
The Art Database below contains four main areas: Arts and Crafts, WCAA, Modern Artists and the Newlyn Colony of Artists.
PZ 602 Boy Willie was a 1st class wooden sailing lugger built in Newlyn by Henry Peake of Tolcarne in 1897 for James Pender of Mousehole (archive reference 3352). The photo shows her moored at Mousehole harbour. In 1900, the skippers were William Henry Simons (b.1868) and Edgar Reynolds and the crew included William Harvey, Willie Harvey and Willie Bone (archive reference 1014). A Bill of Sale dated 25/3/1918 states that PZ 602 was sold to William Simons by Jas Pender for £150 (archive reference 402). Boy Willie was fishing up to WW2, fitted with a motor. Sold to Falmouth 1940.
The PZ Fishing Boat database is not a catalogue of archive holdings comparable to those provided for the Art Archive and the General Archive. It is rather a store of information about PZ boats that is frequently updated by volunteer Linda Holmes. The data base contains the PZ number and name of the fishing boat with technical information about the boat and information and stories about past owners, masters and crews. There is cross reference to the main archive catalogue (NA) where fishing boat lists, photographs and other material is listed. There are also references to books (author, date of publication and page numbers) and newspaper cuttings that contain information and pictures of the boats. Full details of the books referenced can be provided; newspaper cuttings are kept separately at the archive.
This part of the archive has two sections. The first section deals with groups that have catered for people’s leisure such as Scouts and Guides, the British Legion, the Newlyn Male Choir and the St Peter’s Players.
The second section is about Newlyn Carnivals (excluding water carnivals which are filed under water sports) and also festivals like the Fish Festival.
This photograph of Newlyn RFC was taken at Trewlyn during the local Derby against Penzance on Saturday September 3, 1938 (archive reference 581). Kneebone was the Captain and players included Cripps, James, Payne, Chiffers, Nicholls, Peake, Stafford, Jelbert, Glasson, Williams, Rowe, Kitchen & Hichens. Donated by Phil Westren, Pirates RFC.
We have very good material about Newlyn Rugby Football Club in the Sports section of the archive as Phil Westren has allowed us to copy the club’s archives for the Newlyn archive. The Sports section also contains information and photographs about a number of different sports including water sports and bowls. It includes photos, pamphlets, programmes and accounts of sportsmen and women. Other information about sports can be found in the cuttings files and in the family section.
This is a photograph of Ellie Curnow with her dog outside her house Homealong in the 1930s (archive reference 488). The Curnow family once owned the Orchard where Homealong and many other houses were later built.
The section in the catalogue about the Family contains photographs and documents to do with family history, particularly family trees. It is organized by surname. It covers many of the subjects found elsewhere such as war (military records), schooling (school reports) and place (house deeds). The documents include certificates, wills, letters and other records. There are also biographies, interviews and recorded memories.
The photograph shows Group 4 at the Wesleyan Day School, Fradgan in 1904 (archive reference 657). Miss Annie Pengelly was the Mistress at the school from 1902-1919, and she could be the young woman in the picture but we do not know for certain and we have not been able to name the children.
The section in the catalogue about Schools contains information and school pictures from the earliest Dame Schools run in private homes to the more formal schools provided later. The churches and chapels provided schools initially, including the Wesleyan School (Champion’s School, named after the first headmaster, John Champion); St Peter’s Mixed School (later for boys only) and St Peter’s Girls School (called the Iron School); and the National Schools at Paul and Mousehole. Later schools were provided by the state: Newlyn Board School (later Newlyn Council School), Trewarveneth Infant School, and Tolcarne School (later Newlyn School). Schools changed their names as new government legislation was introduced, and they catered at different times for infant, junior and senior pupils. The latest archive book Newlyn at School 1846-1946 contains information about schools up until the end of WW2 but there are many school photos in the archive from the end of the war until the end of the twentieth century.
The photograph of Percy Chirgwin who was in the Royal Flying Corps in WW1 comes from the Cecil Jenkin Collection (archive reference 657).
Information about WW2 is reproduced in the archive book Newlyn at War but the book does not contain any of the information held about WW1.
The section in the catalogue about War contains entries about the two world wars including information on bombing, evacuees, the homeguard, refugees, war heroes, war graves, war memorials, war rations, war ships, and WW1 women drivers.
The photo from the Billy Stevenson Collection shows Harry ‘pistol’ Small & Mr William S Stevenson with a large sturgeon (archive reference 657).
The section in the catalogue about the fish trade contains items about the early fish sales on the beach and the hawkers and fishwives who sold the fish.
There are papers about the development of the fish market from the first trawl quay built at the foot of the North pier to the later fish markets. There is data about the firms associated with the fish trade including Stevenson & Sons, Harvey & Sons, Suttons, BJ Ridge and others.
The photo shows final touches being made to PZ 389 Ann Marcell at Peake’s Boat Yard Tolcarne (archive reference 733). Ann Marcell was a 27-foot crabber built by Peake for David Hosking of Porthleven and launched in 1965.
The section about maritime matters includes information about boats that have used Newlyn Harbour including the old luggers of the past. It includes historic information about the Mystery and the Rosebud. There are also sections on Coastguards, Lifeboats, and Shipwrecks. See section on Fish Trades for trades associated with the harbour.
The photo shows the landlords Mr and Mrs Plumbridge with friends outside the Fisherman’s Arms, Newlyn Town, in 1935 (archive reference 733). The Fisherman’s Arms is in South Fore Street which runs ‘outlong’ from the end of the Narrows along the top of the cliff as far as the Green. The Fisherman’s Arms once was the most important building in this stretch of road as it was a centre for Newlyn’s seine fishery, and auctions at which seines were bought and sold were held there.
The section in the catalogue about Place lists historic and recent material from the archive about the old villages of Newlyn Town, Street-an-Nowan (including Fradgan) and Tolcarne (including the Coombe), as well as material about the uplong areas of Chywoone Hill, Bellevue and Gwavas, and the outlying villages. There are maps, deeds, documents, films and photos, as well as stories about houses and material related to the infamous Newlyn clearances.
The photo shows the Girls Friendly Society (GFS) on their Maypole Dancers Float returning home after the Carnival in 1952 (Archive reference 860). All the girls in the picture are named on an archive copy of the photo. The GFS was the female equivalent of the Boys Brigade and was a C of E organisation. It was located at St Peter’s Church and was run by Sister Alice.
This section of the archive catalogue lists information about Newlyn’s Institutions and Organisations. Church and Chapel have been amongst the most important institutions in Newlyn and their activities have involved the whole community in the past. Organisations include the British Legion and the Women’s Institute and more latterly the Newlyn Environment Group and the Newlyn Association.
This watercolour of Lamorna Cove was painted by Kenneth Trezise c1958 when Kenneth would have been aged 16 (Courtesy of Haydn Trezise).
The Lamorna Archive was started by the Lamorna Society in 1998 and its first archivist was Sheila Hale. Pam Lomax followed as archivist in 2002.
In 2014, the Lamorna Archive and the Newlyn Archive joined forces and the archives celebrated with an Open Day called ‘When Newlyners Walked to Lamorna Cove’, a reference to an event that happened each Good Friday in times past.
The Lamorna Database contains two main areas Lamorna and Lamorna Society. There is a down-loadable catalogue for each of these areas in PDF format.
The image is from a postcard published by Harvey Barton & Son showing PZ 665 Daisy moored at the bottom of the Norrad Slip. (Archive reference 1092). The houses and shops of Newlyn Town are visible on the Cliff. In the distance men lean over the cliff above Newlyn Slip which marked the beginning of the Narrows where the road was no wider than a carriage with houses on either side. In the Narrows was another slip leading down to the Old Quay. Beyond this and visible in the distance is Green slip which led down to the South Pier.
The general archive catalogue is based on a digital database that is divided into eight main subject categories: places, maritime, fish trade, war, school, family, sport and leisure. Each item in the catalogue is given a unique number. The items include bills of sale, biographies, books, cards, catalogues, census data, certificates, cuttings, deeds, descriptions, estimates, family trees, film clips, guidebooks, indentures, invoices, leaflets, leases, letters, lists, logs, magazines, manifests, memories, manuscripts, maps, newsletters, newspapers, notes, notices, offprints, permits, photos, plans, poems, posters, programmes, receipts, recordings, reports and theses. These items are held in the archive in digital form as documents, photos and PDF files; on cassettes, CDs, databases and DVDs; or in paper form in display books, files and portfolios. The general archive catalogue does not include newspaper cuttings which have a separate database and are filed by date.
The Newlyn Archive is a collection of material about Newlyn, Lamorna and West Cornwall Art. The purpose of the archive is to collect, preserve, store and share stories, documents, pictures, films and audio material relating to these areas. From 2017 the Archive has been housed in the Admiralty Boathouse, 23 The Strand, Newlyn TR18 5HL. This grade 2 listed building was built by the Admiralty as a Coastguards Boathouse in 1900 and became the main Newlyn Post Office in 1925. When the Post Office closed in 2016, the Newlyn Harbour Commissioners (who own the building) made the ground floor available to the Newlyn Archive. There is a notice Board outside the entrance to the Boathouse which shows the opening times of the archive.
Friends of the Newlyn Archive who pay an annual subscription or take out life membership are actively involved in creating and fashioning the Newlyn Archive by staffing the Boathouse, running the Open Days, adding to the archive resources, or taking responsibility for research in particular areas of the archive.
Friends of the Archive elect a committee of volunteers that includes a chairman, treasurer, secretary, and six ordinary committee members, four of whom take responsibility for membership, the film and audio library, family history and telephone contact. The archivist is an ex officio member of the committee.
Regular Open Days with free admission are held at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill. They focus on a chosen theme, and enable people to enjoy and learn from the archive holdings. Dates and topics are available on the website.
A wide range of people including young people are involved with the Archive. When our new Centre at the Boathouse was launched in 2017 there was a special day set aside for a visit from children at Newlyn School.
We also work closely with the local community on important heritage projects. We open the Boathouse for the annual Newlyn Fish Festival. We have collaborated with the Sensory Trust to identify walks around Newlyn that identify sights, sounds, smells and points of interest that will be used in an app for disabled people. We are working with the Ocean Pride Project that hopes to relaunch the old sailing lugger PZ 134.
Christopher Laughton took this wonderful photo of the Archive Open day at Trinity on Saturday 6th September. 114 visitors visited the exhibition which was about ‘The people who made the harbour’. Continue reading “Report on the Open Day”
Above: A morning at the archive. Visitors with Maurice Bishop, Dave Barron and Sean Perrott.
So much has happened since the last posting in June. The Boathouse is now open to the public Tuesday-Friday (four mornings) from 9.30-12 o’clock, thanks to our generous landlords the Newlyn Harbour Commissioners. Continue reading “At the Boathouse, August 2017”
On a very warm Saturday, June 16 2017, the archive held its most recent Open Day ‘100 Years Ago’ at Trinity Centre, Newlyn. Much of the Exhibition centred on that year 1917 and the archive had on show material from all three of its archives on Newlyn, Lamorna and West Cornwall Art. The Mousehole Archive was also on hand and there was a board of information about the project to save and renovate the old Newlyn fishing lugger PS 134 Ocean Pride. Continue reading “Open Day Review June 2017”
The photo shows the 34ft long Ripple SS 19 leading Rippling Wave SS 628 out of St Ives prior to World War I when fishing under sail. Ripple was built at St Ives and registered as SS 19 in 1896. During World War I, this 34ft sailing pilchard driver helped to feed the nation when the enemy blockade was in place and the steam drifters and trawlers had been requisitioned by the Navy.
Ripple SS 19 was moored behind the Old Quay at Newlyn for the Painting Day held there on Saturday 11 March. The Newlyn Archive supported the festivities for this third Painting Day, occupying the old Fishermen’s Rest building on the land side of the medieval quay. This building originally provided an alternative meeting place for the local fishermen when they could no longer use rooms situated at the bottom of Church St. It was thanks mainly to the Rev Harold Hoskins that planning permission was granted retrospectively after it was built by volunteers, in stone provided by the Penlee Quarry in 1966. The two harmoniums inside would have been donated by St Peter’s church in Newlyn thus affording the building a religious character. This year the building hosted display boards from the Archive depicting the history of the Newlyn fishing industry and celebrating the beautiful old Luggers that lie at the heart of the Painting Day festivities.
The tradition of Painting Days started in 2011 with the aim of celebrating the contribution made to the community by these former working vessels by inviting artists to spend time sketching and painting them in the context of the harbour. This would coincide with the annual restoration painting of the Luggers, Happy Return, Ripple and Barnabas by their owners and maintainers: a bringing together of the worlds of commerce and art. This year the Ripple and Happy Return were moored and ready to be painted; prime examples of vessels from the fleets that were the life blood of the local community in former times. Sketching and painting took place throughout the day and visitors enjoyed the displays and photographs from the Archive in the Fishermen’s Rest building nearby. Friend of the Archive, John Lambourn was helpful in explaining how important it is to celebrate the heritage of these fine working boats which provided work for the entire community. Some would build and repair them; others made and mended the nets and sails; and women mainly would deal with and later cure the catch. Essentially the boats were the lifeblood of the community. The idea for the day grew originally from John’s plan to bring the boats ‘to life’ by allowing artists to paint them in their iconic setting and so to celebrate their history and significance.
Did you know that there are only three original West Cornish double ended (sharp sterned) fishing luggers known about today, the Barnabas SS 634 at Penzance, the Ripple SS 19 at Newlyn and the Rosalind (ex-Susan SS 185) in Maine, USA?
John Lambourn was responsible for bringing the Ripple to Newlyn and undertaking her renovation so that now she is a sea-worthy vessel. One of his missions is to preserve old luggers. At Newlyn, there is a site, the knowledge, the experience, the skills and the enthusiasm to give them a new lease of life as sailing luggers, perhaps making Newlyn the centre for these historic old vessels. John’s latest exploit is to rescue and preserve a Cornish relic now languishing at Chesapeake Bay USA awaiting the chain saw if nothing is done, the double ended St Ives sailing fishing lugger, Rosalind.
Rosalind was built as SS 185 Susan by the renowned William Paynter at his boatyard near the Customs House, St Ives and registered as a lugger in 1903 for owner-skipper William Jennings. Her keel was 36.3 feet long and her overall length 39.4 feet with a beam of 12.5 feet, depth of 5.8 feet and tonnage of 19.37. At just under 40 feet long she was very like the Barnabas. She had different owners and changes of name before becoming Rosalind FY 26 in 1919 when she was sold to skipper John Behenna of Mevagissey. In 1921 and 1922 Rosalind was listed among the huge fishing fleet at Newlyn. When war came, she fished at Mevagissey. Changing owners several times, she was converted to a leisure vessel in 1992 and rigged as a gaff schooner yacht for Richard Griffiths on the East Coast of the USA.
With the death of her owner, the boat is threatened with demolition, and plans are in hand to bring her home to Cornwall. John Lambourn has started an appeal to raise £12,000 towards the cost of transporting the lugger to Newlyn. The transport would be in three stages, by road to Baltimore, shipping in a container to Southampton and a final road transport leg to Newlyn.
If you can help, please be generous. Donations should be made to: The Rosalind Rescue Appeal, c/o West Cornwall Lugger Industry Trust Ltd, Barclays Bank, sort code 20-67-19 a/c 00498092. For more information call 01736 366 868.
The photo was taken at our most recent Open Day, On the Other Side, which took place in The Centre from 10am until 3pm on Saturday, 1st April 2017. It shows Diane Tredinnick selling second-hand books, and raising an amazing £77.80 for the Archive. Behind her is our family history expert Diane Donohue. In the distance, Denny Harvey is showing fascinating films, including dramatic footage of the Torrey Canyon bombing and coastal devastation at the time. Films of smuggling and the Newlyn riots were also enjoyed and a Time Team programme about a prehistoric Fogou near St Buryan.
There were 131 visitors keen to read the display boards and study the filed resources of letters and photographs available. A raffle previously started in The Boathouse raised £63 and was won by a resident from Tolcarne. The prize was a handsome wooden board depicting a map of Great Britain together with the sea areas of the Shipping Forecast handcrafted by the late Mike ‘Butts’ Buttery of Mousehole.
Some visitors had expected the exhibition to be held at The Boathouse. The Boathouse is not large enough for a major exhibition, so even when we occupy the Boathouse (hopefully in May) we will still be holding four major exhibitions each year at Trinity Centre.
Please put the next exhibition dates at Trinity in your diary.
Saturday June 17, 2017 10-3.00. A Hundred Years Ago
Saturday September 2, 2017 10-3.00. The People who made the Harbour at Newlyn: Designers, builders, harbour masters and fishermen
Saturday October 21, 2017 10-3.00. Newlyn in uniform: the armed forces, nurses, scouts and many others.
On Friday March 24 2017, the Newlyn Archive celebrated the launch of its project ‘Delivering the Admiralty Boathouse for Heritage’ at its future home, The Admiralty Boathouse, 23 The Strand, Newlyn TR18 5HL. The project aims to make the old Coastguard’s Boathouse and more recent Newlyn Post Office the centre of Heritage in Newlyn by locating the Newlyn Archive, The Lamorna Archive and the West Cornwall Art Archive there.
The Friday Launch at the Boathouse was attended by invited local dignitaries, friends of the archive who have been involved in renovating the building to its present state, and representatives of the press. David Tredinnick, chairman of the Archive Committee welcomed the guests who included the Mayor of Penzance and others who generously had written letters of recommendation for our HLF grant. Rob Wing (chairman), spoke for the Harbour Commissioners, who have been so supportive of this project and are making the Boathouse available to the Archive at a peppercorn rent (Photo 1). Ron Hogg, who has masterminded the work already achieved to renovate the Boathouse, explained what needed to be done before we could move the archive physically there. Rob Parsons, Newlyn Harbour Master ended the proceedings with a presentation to retiring Dave Barron, whose historic wooden newsagents shop next to the Boathouse is due to be removed as part of the Harbour Authorities plans to make a more spacious area around the Boathouse.
The project has been generously supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund (www.hlf.org.uk.) whose grant of £3000 will help to unlock our hidden local heritage. ‘The grant will be used to provide the digital equipment we need to enable visitors to explore the archive more efficiently’, said committee member Denny Harvey who looks after this side of the archive. ‘We are planning another book about the harbour, and the grant is contributing to this and the major exhibition we will hold at Trinity Centre in September’, said committee member Linda Holmes who is listing the content of the great collection of historic harbour logs given to the Archive by the Harbour Authority. ‘We hope that using money raised through the National Lottery, the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) will make a lasting difference for heritage here, as it helps other people and communities across the UK to build a resilient heritage economy’ said Pam Lomax, archivist.
On Saturday March 25 2017 the Boathouse was open to Friends of the Archive so that they could have a good look at the location that would house the treasures that many of them have donated to the archive in the past. Friends of the Archive have been incredibly generous with donations towards the work being undertaken at the Boathouse. The Boathouse was open from 10am until 4pm and there were light refreshments available, generously supplied by the Newlyn Co-op. We had eight new boards on legs (bought with a grant from Cornwall Council) that contained information and photographs about the history of the Boathouse and the history of the Harbour. The day was a great success and many Friends of the Archive signed the new visitor’s book that will commemorate our first opening at the Boathouse.
On Monday 27 2017 we welcomed our first party of school children from Newlyn School with their teacher Jo Fitzgerald, and seconded committee member and ex-primary school headteacher, Margaret Follows who takes charge of school liaison for the Archive. We wanted the Newlyn School children to feel some ownership of the archive in its new premises from the beginning. They have contributed to the archive in the past and we were delighted with the interest they showed in the building and in the displays. One feature that captured their imagination was the small glass inserts at the top of the old post office counter which contain interesting historic material (photo 3). They were fascinated with the homeguard epaulets from WW2 and the notebook containing secret codes in the first insert, then there was the pen that Princess Anne used at the opening ceremony for the statue to fishermen lost at sea in the second insert. But what fascinated them most was the collection of wooden net needles and original twine used by Mary Harvey Hoare to make camouflage nets during WW2 in the third insert. Well done Ron Hogg for inventing these useful display areas.
The Open Day focusses on events that happened ‘A Hundred Years Ago’ in 1917 and in the years of the Great War. The pen sketch above was done by Swedish artist Rolf Jonssen (1888-1965) while in Pendennis jail on a charge of spying for the enemy during WW1. Rolf was married to Annie Payne (1894-1965) from Newlyn Town who had modelled for artists like Walter Langley. Her father was Horace Payne, a fisherman who owned his own boat and her mother was Annie E Richards. When the couple married about 1911, Rolf’s father, who owned a Swedish shipping line, built a house for them. The Chalet in the Ropewalk at Newlyn was based on the Jonssen summer home Saro near Gothenburg.
Unfortunately, in 1915, with the outbreak of war, life took a turn for the worse. The Chalet, where Rolf and Annie lived was in a sensitive position being just above the WW1 Sea plane base at Sandy Cove which hosted Newlyn/Land’s End Royal Naval Air Service Station. Rolf was accused of signalling with coloured lights to the enemy and he spent three months in Pendennis Castle before the trial came up and he was proved innocent. It transpired that he had been walking with a torch between rooms in his home which had different coloured curtains. Apparently, Stanhope Forbes had a great deal to do with his defence. Later, Rolf received a Royal pardon, but he and the family left Newlyn vowing never to return.
The Open Day shows archive material about Newlyn and its people in 1917. Did you know that The Try, a trawler working out of Newlyn was sunk in March 1917 by a German submarine, when she was fishing south of the Wolf? On board were the skipper Edward (Ned) Ridge, his son William, son in law Alfred Hurr and another Newlyn boy, Thomas Eddy. Alfred Hurr lived to tell the story and we have pictures of PH 40 The Try to show.
The Open Day also tells the story of the artists from Newlyn and Lamorna (some too old to enlist) who played their parts during the Great War and shows some of the pictures painted during the war.
Most important, for the future move of the Archive to The Admiralty Boathouse, is the story of Newlyn Harbour during the War. The archive is fortunate to hold the Harbour records for the war years and some of this is on display at the Open Day. For example, did you know that the Brigantine Sea Witch sank in the mouth of Newlyn harbour in 1917? That the salvage team for the owners gave up because the wreck was too difficult to remove? That the harbour authorities did not have the men, money or equipment to remove the wreck? Come to the Open Day to hear what happened next!
There will be other events at the Open Day besides the Display Boards and show of old film footage. The Mousehole Archive has a table and a display about Mousehole and Paula and Jim, our experts on Charles Simpson will be bringing some of his work to show.
Most important Shauna will be recording oral testimonies for a film to celebrate the ‘official’ opening of the Boat House as the new home of the Newlyn Archive in September.
Please download the poster for ‘A Hundred Years Ago’ Saturday June 17, 2017 10-3.00 by clicking on the PDF file below and saving it to your computer.
The next Open Day ‘On the Other Side’ is on Saturday April 1 2017 at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn from 10.00-3.00. The topic ‘On the Other Side’ conjures a multitude of views of Old Newlyn.
Certainly, the marching policemen in the photo above, were on the other side when the fishermen of Newlyn, Mousehole, Porthleven and St Ives protested about East Coast men fishing on the Sabbath and flooding the Monday market with their fish. A heavy chain was fixed across Newlyn harbour entrance and the baulks were put down at Mousehole. At Newlyn, the men boarded the boats that had come in during the night and threw the fish overboard…
‘We were pious and stern, as our forefathers were,We honoured the Sabbath day,But the Eastern men made harvest hen,And landed the fish on our kay,And what use to shut with a mackerel glutWhen our boats put out to say?’
But ‘The Other Side’ conjures much more than the Newlyn Riots of 1896. In the exhibition, we have tried to find examples of ‘the other side’ from earliest times to more recent times. We deal with the Spanish Invasion, 1595; Mousehole people’s rejection of Newlyn in the cholera epidemic of 1832; a Newlyn Sea Captain walking the plank in 1850; the Welcome Stranger, 1869; fishermen dabbling with contraband in 1883; the sad case of Rolf Jonssen during WW1; Penzance, on the other side of the Rugby field, 1927; the Newlyn Clearances, 1937; Hulks, refugees and evacuees in WW2; the Torrey Canyon disaster, 1967; and Haul for the Shore, 1980.
There will also be films to watch, files and folders to explore, experts to consult, and much else, so do join us.
Download the Poster Poster_5.pdf21/03/2017, 11:45
We would like to share the first letter addressed to the archive at its new home in the Admiralty Boathouse, which appropriately was a Friend’s donation towards work on the Boathouse.
Our approach to the refurbishment of the Boathouse is to restore it to its original condition using existing coving and making skirting to match. Many boards nailed and screwed to the original panelling have been removed to reveal original panelling and coving beneath. New moulding has been used to replace old and damaged sections with a profile matching the original.
A great deal of rubble, timber and plastic trunking inside the building and rubbish that had accumulated outside the building was cleared by Volunteers. There was also an unwanted fridge, steel window bars, a steel security cabinet and a toilet which the Harbour Authorities removed.
The cupboard under the stairs was cleaned out and rubbish removed. This area will be scrubbed and painted. The plan is to have a sink and water heater for tea and coffee making here, which the Harbour Authorities will install. There is a convenient drain to connect to immediately outside.
The chamfered groove between each wall panel was cleaned out to emphasise this feature and the panelling rubbed down and cleaned off with sugar soap solution to remove old dirt and nicotine. Hundreds of nail and screw holes and surface damages were filled with wood filler. There were cuts and slots in the skirting boards and window sills and a start was made filling these with an epoxy resin wood filler. The East and West windows in the first room were stripped of paint using a heat gun and paint stripper, then rubbed down ready for primer and undercoat.
We have taken down damaged sections of the ceiling and installed laths to aid re-plastering which will be done by the Harbours Authorities. The removal of coving and a plasterboard panel from above the front door revealed a pull switch that is now working thanks to the Harbour electrician. At the other end of the room we took down two heavy wooden beams that had once held the dividing panelling to the old Messengers Room
The removal of another section of sagging ceiling revealed an old stove flue pipe stuffed with saturated newspaper and surrounded by very wet timbers.
We removed the sheet of plywood used to reinforce the bottom half of the front door to reveal the original panelling that matches the adjoining panels. The internal bolt was also removed.
The back door has four reed-patterned window panes in the top half of the door, one of these had been broken and covered with a sheet of hardboard and four planks screwed across the door on the outside. We removed the planks, the hardboard, and the broken glass (still in place) and fitted a new matching pane of reed-patterned glass. Further work will follow cleaning up and improving the door.
And so, January came to an end
Many thanks to our January volunteers: Tony Fitt, Ron Hogg, Tom Lodge, Brian Newton, Sean Perrott, Vaughan Williams who have worked so hard and to the Harbour Personnel for their help and encouragement.
Progress Report for January 2017 (Ron Hogg)
Most regular readers of this webpage will know that we are moving the Archive to the building vacated by Newlyn Post Office, which the Newlyn Harbour Commissioners have generously made available to us. The building was originally built as a coastguard boathouse for the Admiralty on land leased from Newlyn Harbour in 1900. In 1925 it became the Newlyn Post Office and was at the centre of the village until it moved last year.
The fine detached granite-built structure with its pitched roof, appears in early photographs when it boasted a flagpole (not visible in this picture) and fish was being sold on the road in front. It has been officially renamed the Admiralty Boathouse and the Archive intend to make it the centre for Heritage in Newlyn.
There are many benefits to our new location. The whole archive will be together in one place for the first time. This will make it easier to manage, and therefore its storage, cataloguing and availability will be markedly improved.
There will be much more space at the Boathouse for visitors than was the case in the small room that Trinity Centre has so generously provided on Friday mornings for the last 7 years.
We intend to open the archive to the public regularly on more occasions (to be decided) than the present Friday morning opening at Trinity.
The new premises are much more accessible by public transport and there is parking in the area so that people from far afield will find it much easier to visit the archive.
Before we can move into our new heritage centre, there is much work to be done. The Harbour Authority has begun by repairing the roof to stop leaks; they are also taking care of internal building work and will supply water and electricity.
Newlyn Archive volunteers with Ron Hogg as the foreman have already started to repair and decorate the space, and will be erecting shelving and moving filing cabinets soon.
Their first task was to clear the space in front of the old post-office counter which had lots of cardboard boxes, bits of timber, metal and plastic shelving lying around.
David: I have been removing redundant electrical wiring and conduits, and unneeded wooden partitions and brackets… rubbing down paint work in preparation for repainting.
Ron: The V-grooving feature in the wooden panelling had to be scraped out to remove a soft plastic filling and thus highlight this feature when it is decorated. Then the panelling itself could be rubbed down prior to filling the holes left by the numerous screws and nails.
Sean: We’ve taken out so many screws and bolts and nails, I just hope the Admiralty Boathouse doesn’t float away when it is finally launched.
Ron: The windows were all heavily barred presumably for safety reasons when the building was a Post Office. These were removed by Tony Fitt using his battery powered screwdriver, there being no power available in the Boathouse for powered tools.
‘Delivering the Admiralty Boathouse for Heritage’ is the title of our new project aimed at raising £5000 to cover the cost of refurbishing the interior of the old Boathouse, making the new space fit for purpose, and ensuring that the purpose is achieved.
The money will be used for decorating materials, additional shelving and floor covering. When the decorating is done, we will need comfortable and attractive furniture. We aim to buy a large round table and chairs for front of house for visitors to use, and a water heater so that visitors can be offered tea and coffee.
Much of the archive is digital so that we need new computing equipment to access the catalogue and digital materials. We need a printer so that we can print material for visitors, and a scanner to copy material that is brought in.
The Harbour authorities are putting a sign, ‘Admiralty Boathouse’ over the front door. We intend to erect a copper sign saying Newlyn Archive, based on a traditional style, in the place where the old post office sign hung. Michael Johnson in Newlyn will make the sign and donate half the cost as sponsorship from the Copper Works. We need to raise the rest.
We plan to launch the project at the Boathouse on Friday March 24 2017 for invited dignitaries, and Saturday March 25 2017 for Friends of the Archive. As part of the launch, the Admiralty Boathouse will be open Monday-Friday 9.30-12 o’clock for the public in the week starting March 27 2017
Please make a donation to this project. Send your donation to Ron Hogg, Treasurer, Newlyn Archive, The Admiralty Boathouse, 23 The Strand, Newlyn TR18 5HL.
It was the focus of the last Newlyn Archive Open Day of 2016, the topic puzzled some and enthralled others, ‘They Came, they Stayed and they Left’. 130 visitors came to the exhibition at Trinity Centre and stayed to look at exhibits about some of the people who have visited Newlyn but not stayed, like the marauding Spaniards who burnt the village down in 1595, the Belgian fishermen who kept the fish trade in Newlyn going when the Newlyn fleet was commandeered by the Navy for war duties in world war two, and that old rugby enemy, Penzance who were often beaten into the sea on the sloping field that the Newlyn players knew so well.
There were also famous individuals who passed through: poets like Dylan Thomas, infamous individuals like the mystic and black magician Aleister Crowley, and of course artists like Laura and Harold Knight and Henry Scott Tuke. The latter’s visits to Newlyn from 1879-1884 were the subject of archivist Pam Lomax’s talk on the Friday evening, which was attended by 31 Friends, just about filling the Wheal Betsy room.
The exhibition showed some of the places that have been and gone, such as the old first world war seaplane base in Sandy Cove, captured in archive pictures like the wonderful iconic picture of one of the earliest WAAF’s, Mary Bone Nicholls in her overalls with the propellers of the seaplane she had been working on immediately behind her.
There was also some information from the archive about buildings in Newlyn that once served a completely different purpose to that of today. Most important amongst these must be the place that will house the Newlyn Archive before the end of the year. This was built as a Coastguards’ Boathouse by the Admiralty, in 1900, became the centre of the village as the Newlyn Post Office in 1925, and as the future home of the Newlyn Archive will take its old name of Admiralty Boathouse before the end of 2016. Keep up with news about the move on the website here. We will be celebrating with an official opening early next year.
It has been a momentous year. We have had 715 visitors to our four Open Days and recently the 320th person signed up as a Friend of the archive which includes twelve Life Friends. This will all be celebrated at the AGM which will take place at the Newlyn Art Gallery at 6pm on Saturday November 12 2016. We hope that Friends of the Archive will attend the meeting and stay on at the Gallery for an entertainment (starting at 7pm) masterminded by our chairman David Tredinnick.
And next year? Please download the programme of the four Open Days which will be at Trinity Centre in 2017. There will also be other events both in our new home the Admiralty Boathouse and elsewhere which will be advertised in due course.
The Newlyn Archive was present at the Newlyn Fish Festival this year in the Admiralty Boathouse (the old post office) with thanks to Rob Parsons the harbourmaster. We could only use the front part of the ground floor but showed some of the display that was part of the Open Day at Trinity Centre in July called To-ing and Fro-ing. There was also a television showing some old film and a number of display books for visitors to look at. We had a very busy day and there were some new faces so that we hope we have attracted some new friends to the archive.
We hope to make the Admiralty Boathouse our permanent home one day, but there is much work to do on the building before it will be ready. The Admiralty Boathouse was built on the ‘Bank’ at Street-an-Nowan in 1900 as a Boat and Watch House for the coastguard. Plans for the boathouse were submitted to the Public Work Loan Board at the same time that the harbour architect, Caldwell was submitting his plans for the nearby slipway.
On 14/6/1900 an indenture between the Public Works Loan Board and the Admiralty was signed which gave
‘ALL that plot of ground situate at the Bank at Newlyn Harbour aforesaid to the West of the inner end of the North Pier and measuring in length from north west to South east forty feet and in width from South East to South West twenty five feet… unto the lessees from the first day of August one thousand nine hundred for the term of sixty years YIELDING therefore the yearly rent of ten pounds’ and that ‘WITHIN one year from the date hereof or from the first day of August one thousand nine hundred (whichever shall be the later date) to erect and build on the said plot of the best materials and in a workman like manner and in accordance with the plans and specifications already approved of by the Lessor a substantial boathouse with watch room and store over’.
The original purpose of the building was to house a coastguard boat and the early drawing show a shore bank and slipway opposite for handy launching. There is no evidence that it was ever used as a boat house but a rocket wagon and rocket apparatus, were stored there. It became a post office in 1925.
Above: Visitors at the Newlyn Archive Open DayTo-ing and Fro-ing
The third Open Day of the year, ‘To-ing and Fro-ing’, on July 16 2016, proved to be a great success, in spite of it being hot and sunny outside (perfect beach weather), and also with it being Lafrowda day at St Just.
141 people turned up to enjoy the exhibits, which included pictures of horse drawn carts and wagonettes, old motor cars at Lamorna and Newlyn buses, fishing boats and mine engines and people marching to-and-fro.
The film show was very pertinent with the opportunity to view the locality from an old car being driven around West Cornwall, or seeing the amazing machine called the Dreckly Express that travels underground in a tunnel to take goods to the top of St Michael’s Mount.
The display books were very popular with many people engrossed in their content throughout the day. A solid core of regulars attended, but there were quite number of new faces (including young people) and the committee were kept busy answering queries about family history and other things. It was great to see groups of people standing around discussing the exhibits, and sitting at the tables drinking coffee and having a good old chat. (David Tredinnick reporting).
Above: Brian Newton waits for visiitors at the Newlyn Archive TentMarazion Carnival
On July 31 2016, on a very sunny Sunday morning, members of Newlyn Archive set off to Marazion Annual Carnival. The transport was loaded up with tables, chairs, display boards and a large gazebo to arrive at 0900. On arrival we were given our pitch and local volunteers assisted in the setting up of our gazebo and tables. I would like to thank the Marazion Carnival Committee for allowing the Archive to have the pitch free of charge (normally £35-£45).
Above: Denny Harvey and Pam Lomax at the Newlyn Archive Tent
It was a beautifully sunny day and the carnival was extremely busy with many thousands of visitors and local families. The Newlyn Archive display was active with visitors from as early as 10.30 even though the festivities didn’t really start until 12 o’clock. There was a steady flow of visitors throughout the day with people from as far as Mexico, Holland and various places around the United Kingdom. We had local people eager to talk about the material on the display boards including a gentleman who worked at Levant and Geevor mines who incidentally worked with my grandfather many years ago. He told us many tales of mining and the old smuggler tunnels that exist around Pendeen. A local Marazion man told a story of a man from Newlyn who used to sell fish in Marazion when he was growing up. He used to come over by horse and cart and dip the fish in Red River to freshen them up before selling them to the locals.
The day was a great success for the Archive, promoting its work to the other side of Mount’s Bay. A lot of local people said they would look at our web site for details of the next exhibition. Many thanks to all that helped on the day. (Denny Harvey reporting).
The photo above shows the erection of a second shed at the Seaplane Base at Sandy Cove in 1917 by the local builder George Curnow.
The next two-day Open Day ‘They came, They Stayed and They Left’ is on Friday September 30 2016 from 2-7, and Saturday October 1 2016 from 10-3.00. It contains material from the archive about the people who came to the area for a time, often contributed a great deal, then left.
Amongst other topics, it showcases the marauding Spaniards who burnt Newlyn, Mousehole and Penzance, three of the vicars of St Peter’s Church in the Coombe who made lasting contributions to the local area, the airbase that occupied Sandy Cove in WW1, artists who came to Newlyn and Lamorna but did not stay, the Belgian fishermen and other evacuees who took refuge at Newlyn in WW2, shops that have opened and closed, and trades like quarrying and boat-building that once flourished in the area.
The Mousehole Archive will present material about their one-time resident Dylan Thomas.
There will be a tribute to Adam Kerr, who was the Patron of the Lamorna Society until his recent death.
On Friday evening starting at 7.30 in the Wheal Betsy Room at Trinity Centre, there is a talk by archivist Pam Lomax about Henry Scott Tuke who first came to Newlyn in 1879, visited for a number of years, then decided that his permanent home would be Falmouth. The talk covers the years he spent in Newlyn and explores the places where he stayed and the local people that he met. There will be a £3 entry fee at the door towards archive costs.
Do download the poster for the Open Day.
The photo of WJ Olds, Butcher in his horse-drawn cart outside the Kings Arms, Paul is just one of the many examples of T0-ING and FRO-ING in the exhibition at the next Newlyn Archive Open Day ‘To-ing and Fro-ing: getting there and getting back’ at Trinity Centre on Saturday July 16 2016, 10-3.00.
The Exhibition tells the story of transport through the ages as it affected the people who lived at Newlyn and round about Newlyn.
First and foremost, were the fishing boats like the lugger PE 233 Mystery that took seven men to Australia in 1854.
For speed and sea worthiness, Newlyn luggers could not be excelled. In 1885 a Newlyn lugger sailed from Scarborough in less than 72 hours. In 1890 three luggers sailed the 600 miles to Scarborough in 70 hours.
As the fishing industry prospered and the new piers were built there were ‘Bird’ boats with names like Auk, Albatross, Crane, Drake, Gannet, Guillemot, Mallard, Petrel, Philomel, Raven, and Stork that took pilchards from Newlyn to Genoa
From earliest times, fishing was the most important industry in Newlyn. Horse-drawn vehicles took fish from the fish auctions on the beach at Newlyn to Penzance station for dispatch to the London markets. Before the 1914 war most people at Newlyn relied on these carrier’s carts or on horse drawn wagonettes. Blanche Brown, who was born in 1906 explained that if a woman could afford 2d for a ride to market in the wagonette she would do so, but halfway up Morrab Road she had to get out and walk the steepest part, as the wagonette was pulled by a single horse. Once the wagonette got to the flat, the passengers could get in again; and coming home, they could board the wagon at the top of Morrab Road and ride straight through to the bridge in Newlyn.
Newlyn did not have its first motor bus until December 1919, run by the Hitchens family at Tolcarne. The bus ran from the First and Last Hotel in Penzance through Newlyn and on to Mousehole. The vehicle, registered AF2381, was named Porth Enys, the old name for Mousehole. In 1922 there was competition from the Harvey family of Mousehole who set up their own bus company, and in 1926 the Western National Omnibus Company set up its headquarters at Wherry Town.
There was to-ing and fro-ing below ground as many Newlyn men worked in the mines when fishing was bad. The off-shore Wherry Mine had a long timber trestle over the sea for access. In other mines on the North Coast, miners who worked deep down could have travelled on the reciprocating man engine, which sometimes took as long as 50 minutes to get to the bottom of the shaft, with the men stepping on and off at regular intervals. Below ground there might have been a tramway with wagons to load the tin and sometimes there would be donkeys to pull the heavy wheeled containers.
Janner Maddern to-ed and fro-ed as he drove the engine named after him from Penlee Quarry to Newlyn’s South Pier pulling wagons full of stone to load on to the ‘Brook’ stone boats, which had names like Caernarvonbrook, Chesterbrook, Clarebrook, Corkbrook, Cornishbrook, Dorsetbrook, Glenbrook, Somersetbrook, Stirlingbrook, Warwickbrook, Westminsterbrook, Winchesterbrook, and Worcesterbrook.
The Exhibition gives many other glimpses of ‘to-ing and fro-ing’ and there will be display books and film shows on the day so please ‘To and Fro’ to Trinity Centre on Saturday. You can downlaod the poster by clicking on the PDF file below.
We had another very successful open day last month. The Building of Newlyn Harbour was held at Trinity Centre on April 4 2016 and was attended by 172 people. We were very pleased to see Frank and Jan Ruhrmund in the crowd and managed to take a good photograph (at the top).
As well as the archive providing information and photographs about the harbour and the people who made it happen, visitors to the Open Day also brought in some interesting items, such as the medal struck for the opening of the South Pier in 1888, which was brought along by Patsy Plumbridge.
Friends of the Archive, particularly Anne Forrest and Pauline Hope, have been busy this year trying to list and catalogue all the material we hold on West Country Artists. This work is nearing completion and we will soon have the updated catalogue list on line. The artists include the important early artists of the Newlyn and Lamorna Colonies but also artists from other parts of West Cornwall.
There is also a growing collection of material about living artists, some of whom have donated important archives of their work to the West Country Art Collection. One of these is Eric Ward, from St Ives (see his self portrait). Some of his most beautiful paintings depict maritime scenes around the coast, not surprising because before he gave his career to art full time he was a helmsman of the inshore lifeboat, coxswain of the all weather lifeboat and one-time St Ives Harbour master.
Inspiration to develop Newlyn Harbour came from a number of people whose interests ranged between concern for the well-being of fishermen to commercial interest concerned with the landing and sale of fish. The vicars at St Peter’s Church, best represented by the Rev Wladislaw Lach-Szyrma motivated by humanitarian concerns played a key role in the initial fight for the harbour while commercial interests perhaps represented best by the entrepreneur and land owner Thomas Bedford Bolitho continued the impetus. The photograph above shows a proud Thomas Bedford Bolitho in top hat surrounded by other dignitaries at the opening of the North pier on July 3rd 1894.
This Open Day covers the full development of Newlyn Harbour from the election of its first harbour commissioners in 1884 to the present time. It spans the building of the South and North Piers, the erection of two fish markets in 1908 and 1988 and the building of the Mary Williams Pier. It highlights the Newlyn Riots and their aftermath when for nine years from 1897-1906, the management of the harbour was taken over by the Public Works Loan Board. From 1906, when the harbour was returned to its elected commissioners and was becoming more prosperous, there were considerable developments in its infrastructure with a new trawl fish quay, a coastguard boathouse, new harbour offices, new market facilities and RR Bath’s new ice house where Newlyn made its own ice for the first time. Alongside this, the fishing fleet was becoming larger with foreign boats using harbour facilities alongside the growing fleet of Newlyn boats, the most prominent of which, was the post WW2 Stevenson fleet.
Hopefully, the exhibition pinpoints some of the key figures along the way, including the harbour masters, William Oats Strick in 1886, to our present Rob Parsons. But we rely on our visitors to add to the growing dossier of information we have amassed about Newlyn Harbour. We would also like to thank the Newlyn Harbour Commissioners for their generous sponsorship of this Open Day.
The Open Day ‘The Building of Newlyn Harbour’ is at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn on Saturday April 9 2016, from 10am until 3pm
Please download the poster
The photos were taken at the last Open Day ‘The Great Storms’ on Saturday February 13, 2016, when we had a record 272 people visiting the exhibition. The photo on the left suggests we have an appeal to the very young. One wonders what important notes little Nuala is making and whether coming to the Open Day will influence her future interest in local history. On the right, a group of people give their full attention to the amazing footage that Denny Harvey found about local storms.
The Open Day had a wide appeal and we received some very complimentary comments in the visitor’s book. Not only did we show pictures and text about the great Newlyn Storms, we also focused on storms at Lamorna and had some very exciting input from the Mousehole Archive at the start of what we hope will be a long and mutually beneficial collaboration.
This first Open Day of 2016 has given us a wonderful start to the New Year and we hope that Friends of the Archive will continue their support for the next four Open Days planned. If you have anything to contribute to the next Open Day, now is the time to send it to us.
The next Open Day, ‘The Building of Newlyn Harbour’, will take place on Saturday April 9 2016 10-3.00 at Trinity Centre Newlyn. We hope you will join us.
The picture above shows high tide at Newlyn Harbour’s North Pier, October 27 2004. Courtesy of Roger Clemence.
The first Newlyn Archive Open Day of 2016 on Saturday February 13, 2016 10-3.00 at Trinity Centre reminds us that there were many great storms in the past that certainly equalled the recent one of 2015. Here are two examples of many that we share at the Open Day.
The great storm of October 1880 flooded Newlyn and wrecked the fishing boats moored there, sending them to the bottom, stranding them on the shore, or wrecking them on the rocks. Even more tragically, it resulted in the loss of the Mousehole fishing boat PZ 26 Jane, a 2nd class lugger which went down just outside Penzance harbour. The crew of six men and a boy were drowned in full sight of their wives and children. The rocket apparatus was on the pier but the storm was too ferocious for it to be used. As with all disasters some good accrued later and the 1880 storm was a powerful argument in getting approval for the building of a South Pier at Newlyn; it was also key in leading to the construction of the new road on the Western Green, between Wherrytown and Newlyn.
There were many serious storms that followed. One storm was called the Blizzard in the West. Cornishman reporter Douglas Williams contributed the following account to the records of the storm that were collected and published a month after the blizzard.
‘It was on Monday March 9, back in 1891 that the giant blizzard struck the county. The fine weather of the past weeks suddenly ended, the temperature dropped quickly, and snow began to fall as the wind increased in strength. There was tremendous damage to property in the next few days, trains were de-railed, many ships wrecked around the Cornish coast, and throughout the county there were stories of lives lost in snowdrifts…
On the railways in Cornwall and Devon some passengers were snowed up in a train for 36 hours… During this week the takings on the Great Western showed a drop of £12,980… A train that left Penzance at 6.25 pm that night arrived at Plymouth at 3 pm next day. There was a drift of snow 20 ft high at Grampound… When a gang of men arrived to clear the track the cold was so intense that the snow froze on the men’s clothes, practically encasing them in ice…
Much of the damage on land could be repaired: at sea there was a different tale. During this week there were wrecks from Start Point to Falmouth resulting in the loss of over 50 lives. At Penare Point, near Helford River, the 2,282 tons Bay of Panama went aground. The captain, his wife, all but one of the six officers, four apprentices and six of the crew, were either frozen to death in the rigging or drowned… There was a serious collision, resulting in the loss of 22 lives, about 140 miles SW of the Isles of Scilly. Only two were saved of the crew of the Roxburgh Castle ‘although their piteous cries for help were plainly heard on the British Peer.’
A hawker of wild flowers, Ambrose Matthews was found dead under three feet of snow at Newquay… One woman… found buried in the snow… had mistaken the gate of the field… for that of her own home, and entering the field had fallen exhausted… her basket with the provisions she had bought in the town was found lying beside her. Mining operations in the Camborne-Redruth area were interrupted. A boy named Wallace left his work at one local mine on the afternoon of the storm to walk to his home. Ten days afterwards his body was found in a snow-drift some 30-40 yards from his home.
The Archive Exhibition touches on most of the great storms that have hit Newlyn from the 1880 and 1891 storms to the Great Ash Wednesday Storm 1962, and other subsequent storms ending with the recent events of 2015.
Also contributing to the Exhibition will be the Mousehole Archive and the Lamorna Society Archive.
Let us hope all the storms on Saturday February 13, 2016 will be inside the main hall at Trinity Centre!
Do download the poster.
Click on the PDF file below and save it to your computer.
The amazing picture of St Mary’s Church photographed by Vaughan T Paul after the thunderstorm of 4/8/1899 shows work in progress to replace over 100 small panes of glass in the five southern windows which were broken. The Great Stormsis the title of the first Newlyn Archive Open Day in 2016 which will be held at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill on Saturday 13th February 2016. DO PUT THE DATE IN YOUR DIARY.
2015 was a tremendous year for the archive and we ended the year with the 6th Annual General Meeting of the Friends of the Newlyn Archive on Saturday November 7th 2015 at 6pm followed by an evening entertainment held at the Newlyn Art Gallery who generously provided the accommodation. The following Friends were elected to the committee for 2015-2016: David Tredinnick (chairperson), Ron Hogg (treasurer), Amanda Thompson (secretary), Tom Lodge (deputy chairperson), Diane Tredinnick (membership secretary), Jay Coleman, Diane Donohue, Anne Forrest (to liase with the Lamorna Society), Andrew Gordon, Denny Harvey, Linda Holmes and Jean Lodge. Margaret Follows was co-opted for school liaison. The honorary archivist Pam Lomax remains an ex officio member of the Committee. Reports were received from the chairman, the treasurer and the honorary archivist.
At the end of the meeting Friend of the Archive John Lambourn talked about The Journal of Henry Kelynack which was amongst the material passed to the Archive by the Newlyn Harbour Master, Rob Parsons.
The journal covered a voyage Henry Kelynack made as a signed on crew member of the ‘Queen of the West’. The voyage started at Penzance on June 2, 1851 and finished at Penzance on February 15, 1852. Henry Kelynack recorded details of the weather, sail changes, work activities, cargo handled, navigation aspects such as land seen, speed of the vessel and sights taken with sextants. From the journal it was possible to deduce that the ‘Queen of the West’ was a topsail schooner. The journal was a remarkable achievement on Henry Kelynack’s part as he was only 18 at the time.
John Lambourn’s research at Truro Records office revealed records of the ‘Queen of the West’ registered at Penzance as a two masted schooner, 79 feet in length, 13 feet breadth, 159 tons, square-sterned, with a female figurehead. It was built October 16, 1848 at Newport Monmouthshire and lost in the Mediterranean on November 10, 1860. In keeping with all registered vessels its ownership was in 64 shares which were held by: Thomas Roberts Iron founder (12 shares); Abraham Roberts Gentleman (12 shares); Stephen Tregarthen Master from the parish of Paul (16 shares); Mary Moore Spinster from Liverpool (8 shares); William Gambell Sailmaker from Liverpool (8 shares); John Young and John Cook Ship builders from Newport (8 shares).
The ‘Queen of the West’ loaded ballast for Cadiz where it was discharged into a barge and loaded salt and barrels of olives for Buenos Aires where this was discharged and a cargo of tallow, hides and bones was loaded for Penzance. This might seem an unlikely cargo but Penzance was very active in trading and manufacturing in the past. There were at least two tanneries in Penzance, one of them at Chyandour owned by the Bolithos. The bones were used to produce many things which we now make of plastic i.e. buttons, cutlery handles etc. The tallow was much needed as a lubricant and other things which our oil industry now provides. Every axle every cog needs lubricant. In the past there were traders known as tallow chandlers. Newlyn and Penzance had very industrious pasts, we tend to think it was all mining, fishing and farming but there was a lot more to it than that.
After the AGM the usual evening of entertainment titled Cark, Byes, Cags and Callamarks was provided for Friends of the Newlyn Archive. The entertainment and a quiz, which had been organised by Andrew Gordon, was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone, not least because of Andrew’s showmanship and sterling readings from David and Diane Tredinnick, Liz Harman, Dave Barron and Tom Lodge. A highlight of the evening was Jay
Coleman who played the guitar and sang three songs that told stories of Newlyn’s past. If you are not a friend of the archive, it is worth joining just to get along to the annual entertainment!
The last Newlyn Archive Open Day of 2015, the two-day event ‘Where the artists lived in Newlyn and Lamorna’, was a great success. It was open on Friday 2/10/2015 from 2pm-7pm at Trinity Centre when there were 105 visitors. Visitors included pupils from Newlyn School shown in the picture above. They did a quiz organised by Friend of the Archive Margaret Follows which involved some serious searching of the display folders and interrogation of the display boards; they also helped to create a ’tissue’ stained glass window which referenced some of the Newlyn Artists’ paintings suggesting ‘hope’ like TC Gotch’s Alleluia. Other Friday visitors included members of the Lamorna Society, as the open day coincided with their annual meeting in Lamorna. On Friday evening the Wheal Betsy room was full (39+ people) for a lecture given by honorary archivist Pam Lomax to complement the exhibition. On Saturday 3/10/2015 a further 117 visitors came to the exhibition. As well as local Friends of the Archive, there were visitors from much further afield who enjoyed the display of photographs and documents from the archive and stayed longer than usual to explore the archive display books and folders made available to peruse. Committee members and Friends of the Archive were available to help with the organisation of the event and to field enquiries about local history in Newlyn and Lamorna. Alongside the regular archive displays, the fund-raising was particularly successful with Jean Lodge doing well with the raffle and sale of posters and Andrew Gordon making record sales of second-hand books.
Do keep an eye on the website as we will be pasting information about next years open days shortly.
The ink and watercolour sketch of fisherman William Henry Tonkin by an unknown artist shows him sitting on the window seat at his cottage at Gwavas Terrace reading a paper. He looks very comfortable. The Tonkins cottage would have had a good fire and William would have had his bit of ‘bacca’ each week and a nice comfortable chair to rest on. This was an important respite to compensate for his long periods at sea.
The Tonkins’ cottage was rather larger than the other cottages in the Terrace, and as William and his wife Annie were childless, there was room for lodgers. It was one of the first cottages to attract artists, despite there being no running water, sanitation that relied on the night soil cart, and light from a paraffin lamp or candles.
Caroline Burland Yates first stayed there in 1879, and when she married Thomas Cooper Gotch, it was the Gotches main lodging house up until 1887 when they rented the Malt House. Stanhope Forbes stayed there when he first came to Newlyn in 1884. Walter Langley painted at least three pictures in its linhay.
This is one of a number of houses in Newlyn and Lamorna that are explored in the next Newlyn Archive Open Day ‘Where the Artists Lived in Newlyn and Lamorna’. The Open Day is at Trinity Centre, Newlyn on Friday 2/10/2015, 2pm-7pm and Saturday 3/10/2015, 10am-3pm. It focuses on the early artist colony and their houses, their landlords and the folk whom they painted, which is now part of art history.
Do download the poster
The photograph shows Margaret Follows, Sue Hampshire (Chair of CAHG), Anne Forrest and Julia Nash (Friend of the Archive) on the occasion of the presentation of the award for Inspiration to the Newlyn Archive at the Community Archive & Heritage Group Conference at University College London on July 15 2015.
The Newlyn Archive Open Day on Saturday 18 July 2015 ‘When the Quarry Guns Sounded’ was a great success with 146 visitors. Our rather depleted group of helpers did a sterling job with Jean Lodge taking on the job of organising the day and running the raffle, Ann Pilcher helped by Judith Porter on the door, Andrew Gordon selling second hand books, Diane Donohue helping with family research, Denny Harvey showing some amazing film footage, Pam Lomax sorting out archive queries, and David Tredinnick, Linda Holmes, Tom Lodge and Ron Hogg helping visitors around the space.
Two of our committee members not on duty that day (and shown in the photo above) had in the previous week been in London to pick up an award from the Community Archive & Heritage Group for the Newlyn Archive being the ‘Most Inspirational Archive and Heritage Group of 2014’. We had been asked not to publicise this until after the awards were announced at the Conference held at University College London on July 15th. So it was announced to Friends and visitors to our Open Day three days later.
Pam Lomax had entered the Newlyn Archive into the competition earlier in the year. Her entry outlined the work done by the archive in the year leading up to the exhibition, ‘Newlyn at Play: When Newlyners Walked to Lamorna Cove’ held on Friday and Saturday 3-4 October 2014. She described Friday morning openings at Trinity Centre where visitors share information, donate material or consult the archive; the importance of the website which encourages information to be exchanged by email, letter or telephone so that the resources of the archive are shared with the widest community possible; the books on local history themes that are periodically published by the archive; the popular Open Days held 4 or 5 times each year with 125-225 visitors attending, when there are films, photographic displays, competitions and activities in which old and young can participate and become involved with the archive.
Most appropriately Anne Forrest made the presentation for the Newlyn Archive which included a slide show; as President of the Lamorna Society, she has been closely involved with the integration of their archive with the Newlyn Archive and has personally been responsible for new research and bringing new material (and new Friends) into the archive. Supporting Anne was Margaret Follows who is the Newlyn Archive’s link person with Newlyn School and has conducted a number of projects with the children including two in 2014.
This is what Anne had to say about the conference: ‘The speakers and award winners’ presentations were fascinating and inspirational in their diversity. This year, CAHG’s keyword was ‘community’ and our entry impressed the judges by our bringing together two communities, Newlyn and Lamorna. Our entry won the category for ‘Most Inspirational Archive and Heritage Group of 2014’.
See the link with the Community Archives website which has been added to our links. This includes a report on the award the archive received.
We have called the next Newlyn Archive Open Day on Saturday 18 July 2015, 10am-3.00pm in the Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, ‘When the Quarry Guns Sounded’. Local people remember the ‘Quarry Guns’ at I2 noon and 4.30pm signalling that blasting was about to begin at Penlee Quarry. The people on Skilly beach made a run to the shelter when the siren sounded and often saw stones fall into the sea.
Known originally as Gwavas Quarry, the quarry was opened in 1882 by James Runnalls (1837-1895) from Penzance and some of its stone would have been used for the new road from Tolcarne to Penzance for which Runnalls had the contract.
The photograph above was taken almost a hundred years later, on September 22, 1993 when Gerald Williams set out to record the final demolition of the old quarry buildings. The photo shows the end of one of the huge reinforced concrete silos, as the heavy hydraulic breaker smashes it to pieces.
In its day Penlee Quarry was a huge successful enterprise. Once the locomotive ‘Penlee’, known as ‘Janner’s Engine’ after her driver J Maddern (who wore a bowler hat to work) pulled the huge containers full of stone from the Quarry to the South Pier where it was loaded into stone boats that had fancy bird names like SS Stork, SS Albatross and SS Guillemot or were part of the fleet of ships whose name ended in ‘brook’ like Londonbrook or Leicesterbrook or Caernarvonbrook.
In the 1960s, when the ships were loaded by the diesel locos that had taken over from Janner’s engine, six locomotives were needed for operations, four higher powered ones on the main line and two lower powered ones shunting the empty tipper wagons through the two loading points. At this time the locos were named after people like TW Lewis and JW Jenkin shown in the poster.
In 1973, the railway ceased operations and was replaced by a belt conveyor system using the same route. Operations at the quarry then slowed throughout the late 1970s and the 1980s. By 1989 Penlee Quarry had closed down but the derelict buildings remained and although there was a petition to have the buildings along the Newlyn-Mousehole road removed, this did not happen until 1993.
If you would like to explore what the archive holds about Penlee Quarry you should click on Archive Catalogue, then on Places. You can download the PDF file on Places by opening the PDF file and saving it on your computer. Information about Penlee Quarry is at the end of the list in pages 55-60.
If you want to download the poster for the Open Day, click on the PDF file below and when it opens either save it or print it.
Above: J Irving Thomas was one of the early conductors who led the choir to many county honours until his retirement in 1956 when he was presented with an FM radio, then a very new product. Front row: Mrs Thomas, J Irving Thomas, Leonard Hall, John White, Second row: Gordon Richards, Clarence Wallis, Andy Gendall, Bernard Hitchens, Cecil Weeks. Third row: Clive Nicholls, Jim Renfree, Roy Bersey, Harry Hosken, Ronald Whatley, Gordon Williams, Horton Bolitho, Louis Hunkin, Jimmy Harvey (out of picture). Top row: Leonard Hall, Leslie Sleeman, Dick Sleeman, Bill Simons, Phil Gendall, Dick McLary and Jack Rowe.
Newlyn Male Choir
The history of the choir until 1991 is well recorded in Ivan Balls’ short history Buccas Song published in 1991. The choir had its beginning in Mr William Richards tailor’s shop in narrow Church Street on the cliff above old Newlyn Harbour where a group of men met to sing together. More formally, it began with a Charity Concert in September 1920 organised by William Richards to raise funds for the family of the trammer William John Harvey, who had died in an accident at Penlee Quarry. This led in due course to a concert on 19/9/1921 at Trinity Methodist Schoolroom with William Richards conducting and W Norris Williams as the accompanist.
Over nearly a century the choir has left its mark on the history of Cornish male choirs. Its original logo, which is pictured on its badge (right), consisted of a shield with four quarters depicting a Mount’s Bay lugger, St Piran’s cross, Newlyn harbour lighthouse, and a lyre. Towards the end of 1950 this was modified when ‘voice’ was dropped from its name and the Newlyn Male Voice Choir became the Newlyn Male Choir.
The choir has been awarded numerous certificates to mark its success at the various Cornish Competitions and at times it was considered to be one of the best male choirs in Cornwall. Sadly, the choir disbanded in 2014 but its considerable archive which is part of the heritage of Newlyn, is safe. Here at the Newlyn Archive we have just finished sorting the vast collection of material that has been collected over 94 years and the catalogue is available for you to download as a PDF file from this website. What you need to do is click on ‘Archive Catalogue’. Then click on ‘Leisure’ under the main archive. At the bottom click on the PDF link ‘Leisure’. When the PDF opens click on ‘save a copy’. If your family is from Newlyn no doubt your family name is somewhere in this file!
The physical archive includes two meticulously kept minute books dated 1935-1964 and 1965-1998 and a file of more recent minutes kept by Bryan Marshall who was secretary from 1998 until the choir’s demise in 2014. There are 10 files of letters listed by year and sorted by date and 7 files of photos, programmes and other memorabilia that document in detail the story of the choir. There are a number of miscellaneous items including the NMC Banner ‘Deurnes Mannenkoor’ dated 8/1/1975 and embroidered by Mrs Barbara Hosking. There are also a number of cassettes and videos which we hope to get transferred to CDs and DVDs so that they can be accessed by future generations.
This valuable collection of photos, letters and documents links well with other material in the Newlyn Archive. For example, a letter to the choir from Job Morris at Sentinel Recording Studios dated 3/4/1989 announces the end of Sentinel Records (Cornwall). This venture originated in Newlyn with premises in the Strand (see Place in Catalogue). John Henry ‘Harry’ Matthews (1895-1954), who was one of the founder members of the Newlyn Male Voice Choir, and one of its first conductors was awarded the Medaille Reconnaissance Française for work at Newlyn during the war (see War in Catalogue). Brenda Wooton who was the soloist with the choir for the 11th Inter-Celtic Festival in L’Orient, Brittany in 1981 worked in Peter Ellery’s Tremaen Pottery on the Norrad Slip (see Art Archive: Arts and Crafts in Catalogue). More generally, through the years many of the venues have been Methodist chapels confirming the relation between Methodism and singing (see Organisations in the Catalogue).
The archive holds an amazing record of the choir but there are gaps in its material. We do not have copies of all the programmes or stories for all the events. If you have a collection of material about the choir, why not lodge it in the archive for safe-keeping? We would also like to hold an open day about the choir in 2016 but for this we will have to find funding so please become a friend of the archive (£5 per annum) or send us a donation towards the 2016 event. The Treasurer is Ron Hogg, Wheal Betsy, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn TR18 5AP.
We were delighted to see the 127 people at the Open Day on ‘Farming, a Forgotten Trade’ on Saturday 11 April. There were many new faces and it is good to know that the message about the subject of the open days is reaching such a wide audience.
Two visitors from outside the area were particularly delighted with the displays and told Andrew Gordon, ‘There was so much to see and read. We really needed a second visit’. They thought that it was really helpful to have pads and pens available so that they could make notes. They were able to discover many interesting pieces of information which they were keen to pass on to relatives and friends. It was, they concluded, ‘wonderful!’ Although they no longer live locally, their family once lived and worked in Mousehole and Newlyn.
Another welcome visitor was Jim Hosking, whose books ‘People & Places in Paul Parish’ and ‘People, Places & Past Events in St Buryan’ were important sources of information on the topic of our exhibition. He was able to tell some interesting stories about some of the events illustrated in the displays.
For the archivist, Pam Lomax the most rewarding moment was when Gerald Williams found that the missing name on the photo of potato pickers at Lower Trembath Farm was that of his mother Vera Williams! This missing information has now been added.
The next exhibition looks like being a really interesting event so please put the date in your diary and come along. Saturday 18 July 2015, 10am-3.00 pm. ‘When the Quarry Guns sounded’ Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill
The next Newlyn Archive Open Day ‘Farming, the Forgotten Trade’ is on Saturday April 11 2015 at Trinity Centre from 10.00-3.00. The display boards tell the story of farming at Newlyn. It is difficult to imagine that farming was once as important as fishing. In long past days, cattle made their way from Farmer’s Meadow, through School Lane and the Fradgan and down the old slipway to the shore where there was enough grass for them to graze. Those with knowledge of the Cornish language will know that Fradgan means ‘ox road’ and Street-an-Nowan means ‘street of the oxen’.
Perhaps less well known is that the early artists who came to Newlyn whose paintings of fishermen and luggers are so well known also painted the countryside and the farms around. By the time they arrived, Newlyn was already more important for its fishing although when Stanhope Forbes arrived, the Curnow family who lived at Orchard House in the Fradgan owned orchards that stretched from the Fradgan to the Norrad Slip. In fact market
gardening was a feature of Newlyn, particularly in the Coombe and out the Green, into the twentieth century.
The picture above, of Boleigh farm, was painted by John Lamorna Birch who came to live at Boleigh Farm in 1892, lodging with farmer Henry Tippett and his wife Emmeline. Henry Tippett, then aged 53 farmed about 60 acres, relying mainly on dairying but with a few pigs and some flowers and early potatoes. Austin Wormleigton, in his biography of Birch (A Painter Laureate) describes Birch’s room immediately under a moss-covered thatch, with a window opening directly onto the farmyard and the bridle path connecting the yard to the fields. Birch’s presence at Boleigh meant that other painters visited. He tells us that Elizabeth Stanhope Forbes was a regular caller, and enjoyed especially the snugness of the kitchen and the opportunity in winter time to warm her mittened hands around a bowl of Mrs Tippett’s broth. Elizabeth Forbes always referred to the Boleigh kitchen as ‘the parlour’, where the Cornish slab or cooking range placed it at the heart of family life.
Above: Friends of the archive Diane Donohue and Douglas Williams having a chat at the last Open Day. Diane is helping people find out about their family history. Douglas has donated a large number of taped interviews to the archive which are being copied from tape to new format MP3s and we have a number of people transcribing them (including Diane).
Our first open day of 2015 was Love and Marriage in a Fishing Village held appropriately on Saturday 7 February, just a week before Valentine’s Day! It attracted 122 visitors and we were delighted to see a good number of young people amongst them. Most people came in the morning (there was rugby on TV in the afternoon) when there was a pleasing buzz of activity with much interest shown by the visitors in both the displays and the large collection of archive files on family history available to look at. Folk were able to enjoy a drink and a chat with old and new friends and at lunch time purchase a very nice pasty. Your committee members were all very busy: Denny had some appropriate music to play; Pete Joseph was kept busy scanning photos and documents that people had brought for the archive; Amanda had made some amazing cakes to sell; Jean did well on the raffle and the rest of us circulated and tried to answer visitor’s queries.
Our next open day called ‘Farming the forgotten trade’ is on Saturday 11 April 2015. If you have any ideas or material we can use please make contact.
This is the earliest photograph of a wedding in the Newlyn Archive. It shows Joseph Carter and Harriet Badcock on their wedding day in 1871. Harriet’s mother was one of the three sisters whose husbands, brother and cousin had formed the major part of the crew that sailed the PE 322 Mystery to Australia in 1854. It is not surprising that Harriet married Cap’n Joe Carter, a yacht captain. The family lived at Clifton Villa in Buccas Pass at the bottom of what was then called Paul Hill. So it is most appropriate that their picture should advertise the next Archive Open Day at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill which is a stone’s throw from Clifton Villa.
The Open Day, Love and Marriage in a Fishing Village, is on Saturday 7 February 2015, 10am-3.30 pm in the Main Hall at Trinity Centre. It focuses on a number of ‘Newlyn’ weddings, showing marriage certificates and telling the stories of the families concerned. ‘Love’ must be inferred from these photos but it is blazoned to the world in the naming of fishing boats like ‘Village Bride’, ‘Ben-my-Chree’ (woman my love), ‘Karenza’ (my love) and ‘True Love’. Many fishing boats were named after wives, sons and daughters and although the archive has photos and details of these boats we do not know the stories associated with the naming of the fishing boats so please share them with us. There will be experts on hand to help you explore your own family history but do make a place in history for your parents and grandparents by letting us copy your photos and marriage, birth and death certificates. You can download the poster for the Open Day by clicking on the PDF file below but do try and come along.
(above) Fundraising group, 5/11/1953. The Smugglers Loft Club raised money for British Empire Cancer Fund by organising a massive November 5 Bonfire with a 12ft Smuggler Guy. The people in the photo include Douglas Williams, Gerald Ninnis, Annette Wilyer, Vaughan Pender, Horton Bolitho, Ken Walker, John Peake, Barbara Jewell, Phyllis Peters, and Graham Paul (Douglas Williams Collection).
The committee of the Newlyn Archive for 2015 say Happy New Year to all our Friends. 2014 was a tremendous year for the archive and thanks go to the support of its Friends and that important annual fiver they pay. This year the funds were increased to provide for an increase in archive holdings and the publication of our new book, Newlyn at Play, by the generosity of the Cooperative Community Fund, Cornwall 100 Club, Cornwall Council, Heritage Lottery Fund, Penzance Council, the Q Fund, and WH Lane and Sons. The £5000 raised has been spent and accounted for to the satisfaction of the funders, so we are all clear for another project in 2015. Do send us any ideas you have for this. We have also been given a tremendous amount of new material this year. The photo above is one example. Do look at the updated catalogues for other examples.
The first Open Day is upon us in under three weeks, on February 7th when we are looking at Love and Marriage in a Fishing Village – quite a challenging subject for an archive – so it is great that we have some very competent family historians amongst our Friends. The poster for this will be available in a few days but in the meantime here is a reminder about the Open Days planned for 2015.
Newlyn Archive Programme of Open Days 2015
Saturday 7 February 2015, 10am-3.30 pm. ‘Love and Marriage in a Fishing Village’. Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill
Saturday 11 April 2015, 10am-3.30 pm. ‘Farming the forgotten trade’. Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill
Saturday 18 July 2015, 10am-3.30 pm. ‘When the Quarry Guns sounded’. Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill.
Friday 2 October, 1pm-7pm and Saturday 3 October 2015, 10am-3.30 pm. ‘Where the artists lived and painted’. Main Hall, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill
and on Friday evening 2 October 7pm-8.30pm. Lecture ‘Where the artists lived and painted’ by Pam Lomax. Wheal Betsy Room, Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill
The last Open Day of 2014 was a huge success with 169 visitors enjoying the exhibition of wartime photographs and memorabilia from Newlyn Archive.
The main display focussed on the two great wars of 1914-1918 and 1939-1945 with many Newlyn families represented in both conflicts. Amongst these was the Harvey family represented by five generations of men and women! Although fewer women were represented in the armed forces, they played their part in both world wars and certainly bore the brunt of the responsibility ‘when the lights went out’ at home.
Alongside the display we were able to offer the considerable expertise of Denny Harvey and Pete Joseph who manned the scanner and internet link, the latter enabling people to search some of the war time records to find family information. David Tredinnick also had a wide selection of interesting second hand books to sell alongside our usual archive classics. We also had a raffle and Mrs Evans was the lucky person to win the beautiful framed print of Walter Langley’s ‘Between the Tides’. Best of all was the amazing selection of cakes made by Amanda Thompson and her mum to raise funds for the archive.
When the Open Day ended the AGM took place and in the evening to round off the year’s events we had the usual entertainment for Friends at the Newlyn Gallery. This was the informative and hilarious ‘Sending Saffron to Tommy’, written and presented by Andrew Gordon about Newlyn during the First World War. There was some great interaction between the master of ceremonies and the audience, some of whom had been inveigled to take part in the presentation. The audience found the event most enjoyable and great fun although at times they felt the pathos of events and were reminded of the tragedy of war.
The AGM Entertainment was a fitting end to what has been momentous year for the archive with tremendous success on all fronts. We have had grants in excess of £5000 which have boosted the content of the archive enormously and also enabled us to improve the storage and display of items. The funding has also underwritten the production of our new book, Newlyn at Play and we hope that sales from this will keep the archive afloat comfortably in the coming year.
Let me remind you about what we have in the three sections of the archive. There are 1448 items listed in the Art Archive. You will remember that this was increased drastically by the incorporation of the West Cornwall Art Archive last year and this year we have integrated the art section from the Lamorna Archive.
In the Lamorna section of the Archive we have 1320 items. This was boosted at the last open day, ‘When Newlyners Walked to Lamorna’ which encouraged a number of people to come forward with new material.
The Newlyn Archive continues to grow even though we have moved material to do with Lamorna and Art into the other two sections. We have 5090 items catalogued. Many of these are collections rather than single items.
We have a considerable collection of newspaper cuttings that are all listed on a searchable data base. We also have a library containing 286 books, a film library with 55 films and a new audio library with 23 recordings. The latter is a new venture and we have started to copy and transcribe audio tapes that are significant to the history of Newlyn or Lamorna.
Next year we will have 4 open days and we are trying some new topics so please help us out. On February 7 2015 (in anticipation of Valentine’s Day) is ‘Love and Marriage in a Fishing Village’; on April 11 2015, is ‘Farming the Forgotten Trade’; on July 18 2015, is ‘When the Quarry Guns Sounded’; and on October 2-3 2015 (two days), is ‘Where the artists lived in Newlyn & Lamorna’.
The photo was taken by George Stevenson Curnow (b1887) and shows naval personnel enjoying a tug of war on Newlyn Green during a respite from combat duties. This is one of many fascinating pictures on display at the next Newlyn Archive Open Day on Saturday November 8 2014 from 9.30-3.00 at Trinity Centre Newlyn. The postcards showing Fleets of Peace and War in Mounts Bay before WW1 indicate the strategic importance of Newlyn and its coast during times of war. The Royal Flying Corps had a base at Sandy Cove during WW1 and there are photos of the ancient aircraft and their personnel from that time.
Women played their part. The Women Volunteer Motor Drivers (WVMD) was started in 1918 to enhance members’ driving skills to the standard where they would be acceptable to the Red Cross and other branches of national service. Phyllis Maureen Doherty, the daughter of the artists Thomas and Caroline Gotch (later the Marquise de Verdieres) started the movement. Another woman who played a key role was Charlotte Douglas Lockhart McGrigor whose sister’s memorial stands at the top off the Norrad slip.
The artists played their part during WW1, the older ones forming the Artists Rifles as part of the home guard.
There were also conscientious objectors who were often given a hard time by villagers whose sons were dying in the trenches.
With Remembrance Sunday the following day, ‘When the Lights went Out’ is a timely display of wartime Newlyn. In WW2 Belgian fishermen kept the fishing going when the Newlyn fishermen and their boats were requisitioned for the war effort. During this time Newlyn acted host to the French and Belgians under the watchful eye of the French Consular Agent.
At home the women, children and older men suffered bombs, blackouts and shortages of war-time and were equally heroic.
The Open Day will conclude with an AGM at 3pm. In the evening there will be a talk by Andrew Gordon entitled ‘Sending Saffron to Tommy’ about the sights and sounds of war, the arrival of the military and how it changed lives. This will be held at Newlyn Art Gallery which will be open for drinks from 6pm with the lecture starting promptly at 7pm. The lecture is free to friends of the archive but others will have to pay £5 and become friend in order to attend.
Do download the poster!
Margaret Follows has managed a project with children from Newlyn School on the theme of Newlyn at Play. This resulted in an outing to Wheal Betsy in June when the children learned about the painter TC Gotch and his treatment of Chinese Lanterns, and a visit to the recent Open Day at Trinity Centre where they did a quiz and this photo was taken.
The recent Open Day on October 4-5 was the culmination of the project for which we have received funding this year which we called ‘When Newlyners Walked to Lamorna’, really a metaphorical title to indicate the integration of the Lamorna Society Archive with the Newlyn Archive. Thanks must go to the following organisations for the funding: Heritage Lottery (£3000), Co-operative Membership Community Fund (£500), Cornwall 100 Club (£500), Cornwall Council (£300), Q Fund (£250), Lamorna Society (£250), WH Lane & Sons (£150), and Penzance Council (£100).
The Open Day was a two-day event, with extended hours on the Friday, being open from 10am until 7pm so that members of the Lamorna Society in the area for their AGM could attend. There was also a lecture at 7.30 given by Pam Lomax with the assistance of Anne Forrest and Margaret Follows (both members of the Lamorna Society and Friends of the Newlyn Archive) and Ron Hogg. We had 122 visitors to the Exhibition on Friday as well as the 40 or so people who looked at the exhibition before attending the lecture on Friday evening.
On Saturday the exhibition was open from 10am to 3pm. Jerry Drew provided some much appreciated Cornish pasties for people around at lunch time, and we had 83 visitors though the door; so all in all 245 people saw the exhibition.
The exhibition was about Newlyn at Play with displays including galas, carnivals, water sports, rugby, choirs, amateur dramatics and many other festive activities but the prime position went to the Good Friday walk to Lamorna. Anne Forrest did most of the research for this project, interviewing people in Lamorna and Newlyn and asking others to contribute written memories. Most of the people she met also allowed the archive to copy photos and documents so that we have expanded both the Newlyn and Lamorna sections of the archive as a result.
We had many first time visitors to an Archive Open Day as a result of the publicity; one lady was disappointed not to find her memories of the Good Friday walk on a display board but over the moon when she found her husband’s father in one of the choir photographs.
The other important event of the Open Day was the launch of the third of our series of Archive books, Newlyn at Play which includes some of the material shown at the exhibition and much else besides. The book covers the period from the end of the nineteenth century until the immediate post war years and includes a section on the Good Friday walk to Lamorna. It costs £8 and all the proceeds go towards the archive. We should have it available to purchase from the website at any time now.
Above: Alan Shears and four friends on the Good Friday walk to Lamorna in 1954
The next Newlyn Archive Open Day is a two-day event on Friday and Saturday 3-4 October 2014 at Trinity Centre, Newlyn. There are extended opening times on Friday when the exhibition is open 10.00 am-7.00 pm. On Saturday it is open 10.00 am-3.00 pm.
The open day is the culmination of the project to expand the Archive to include material about Lamorna and its historic community, a project that has emerged from an active collaboration between the Newlyn Archive and the Lamorna Society. The event in the title, which metaphorically celebrates the merging of the two archives, is the annual pilgrimage made by people from Penzance, Mousehole and Newlyn to Lamorna on Good Friday, originally a family event involving people with affiliations to church and chapel. Later the Good Friday walk became an occasion when young men and women could meet each other informally, and by the 1960s became associated with the much wilder youth culture of the time.
The Open Day also explores the religious festivals that have defined Newlyners’ leisure in times past and the many Galas held by Church and Chapel on these ‘days of rest’. Second only to this allegiance to church and chapel in characterising leisure was the focus on the sea and the traditional work of fishing which gave rise to the early regattas when the fishermen who raced their luggers to and from the fishing grounds were equal to the best sailors in the world. To celebrate these events, the people on the shore indulged in other activities, young people took part in the harbour sports which included swimming and rowing, and women and girls put their energies into devising amazing floats for the carnivals.
Other historic leisure activities that form part of the Exhibition include rugby, singing and the great Newlyn tradition of amateur dramatics which stretches from the performances of the Newlyn Artists Dramatic Society at the end of the nineteenth century to St Peter’s Players, formed in 1962 and active today.
These leisure events form the basis of the new Archive book, Newlyn at Play 1850-1950, which is launched at this Open Day and will be on sale for £8.
Download the poster for the archive open day by clicking on the PDF file below.
Carnivals became a regular feature of Newlyn life after the Perkin Warbeck Pageant of 1906, which was part of a wider set of seaside pageants and involved most members of the community from the fish dealers and fishermen, to the artist community and other residents of Newlyn. ‘Newlyn Pirates’ was one of the carnival floats in1938, the last Newlyn carnival before world war two. The nine men dressed as pirates with a Union Jack include Bry Paul, Arthur Harvey, Frank Rowe, Tommy Thomas, Andrew Harvey, Billy Stevenson, Jacky Cocks and Thornton Trahair. It is not surprising that carnivals became popular in the twentieth century as in the nineteenth century the most important holidays were celebrated with the Galas arranges by the church and chapels of Newlyn and took place alongside Sunday school tea treats and other celebrations. These Galas were painted by the Newlyn artists; Frank Bramley also painted the actual banner used in the Primitive Methodist Band of Hope parades that were part of their Gala Day. Choirs were also part of church and chapel activities; later the Newlyn Male Voice Choir was formed, sadly disbanded in 2014 after more than three quarters of a century of singing. There were Regattas in Mount’s Bay, in which the fishermen masters of the old luggers excelled, and the Newlyn Harbour Sports which included swimming, rowing and lots of fun events. On land there were fairs and other festivities, and the all important Newlyn Rugby team whose home ground was St Goulders Field. Click on the PDF file below to explore what is in the archive about Leisure in Newlyn.
Above: Diane Donohue and Denny Harvey were available to assist those who wished to explore their own family histories and were able to offer valuable advice and encouragement which was much appreciated.
Review by Andrew Gordon
On Saturday July 19 2014, The Newlyn Archive held another of its popular Open Days at Trinity Centre. The fascinating displays portraying entertainment, local businesses, and notable local figures offered an exciting opportunity for the 147 visitors to discover how the spirit of Newlyn is reflected in the lives and work of villagers past and present. Information and photographs of the Gaiety Cinema, the Leper Colony at Wherrytown, St Peter’s Church, and The Lamorna Inn were on display, along with those of several families, including the Peakes, the Curnows, the Harveys, the Stevensons and the Lach-Szyrmas. Images revealing the once thriving stone quarry at Penlee brought back memories of mid day explosions, heavy lorries pounding through The Narrows and the seemingly endless stream of little trains carrying stone to waiting cargo ships on the South pier.
Pete Joseph was on hand to scan new material teased out of attics and cupboards by proud families and friends. A particularly exciting ‘new’ discovery was a medal created to celebrate the opening of the South pier in 1885. Trinity’s Ebb and Flow project provided a delightful opportunity for visitors wishing to ‘Spread a little Newlyn Sunshine’ by recording their thoughts on the petals of a giant sunflower. They found out that the most frequently expressed view about improvement at Newlyn was that the South Pier should be re-opened to the public! David and Diane’s extensive book sale was, as ever, a focus for booklovers and successfully raised much needed additional funds for the future of the Archive.
On a hot, sultry July Saturday it was encouraging to see so many visitors attending the exhibition and enjoying the refreshments provided by Gerry and his team. The considerable amount of work undertaken by Pam in preparing displays and planning the day ensured that the room buzzed with countless animated conversations as anecdotes were shared. The Archive succeeded in reflecting the true spirit of Newlyn’s proud past and present.
Below: Visitors enjoyed Maurice Bishop’s wonderful collection of photographs, most of which have been copied for the archive.
Above: The workers in the photo belonged to be at Penlee Quarry in the 1960s. They are Al Cadman, Sam Munkley, Bob Symons, Jack Harvey, David ‘Mullane’ Botto, Peter Davey and an unnamed young man. (Photo courtesy Adrian Nicholas).
You belong to be at Trinity Centre for the Newlyn Archive Open Day on Saturday July 19 2014 from 9.00-3.30. The expression ‘belong to be’ is part of Newlyn speech today. We found it used a number of times by Daphne Du Maurier in her book Jamaica Inn.
The exhibition contains photos and documents about people who ‘belonged to be’ at Newlyn from historic times until the post war period. We also have a display board about the old ‘Lamorna Inn’ (now the ‘Wink’) at Lamorna.
We hope that your find the exhibition enjoyable and instructive but the archive also needs your help to put names to the faces in the photos and to date and identify the events. We have named all the men in the photo above but the young man bottom right. Can you help with his name and the date of the photo which was taken some time in the 1960s? We also need your help to fill up the gaps in the archive. It is important to collect more recent history as well as that of the distant past so please bring your family papers and photos for us to scan. Pete Joseph will be manning his scanner and can copy your photos and documents so that your family ‘belonging to be’ in Newlyn or Lamorna will be on permanent record.
Alongside the display boards and albums we are very fortunate to have Diane Donohue and Denny Harvey whose expertise is available to help you explore your family history. Trinity’s Ebb and Flow project team will also be inviting you to help ‘Spread a little Newlyn sunshine’ by recording your thoughts about Newlyn on the petals of their giant Sunflower.
Thomas Cooper Gotch, A Night in June, 1910. Gotch described this painting as ‘a nightpiece, a lawn with dining table lit by shaded candles, two figures at a table, other figures on a further plane drinking coffee, Japanese lanterns.’ In fact the painting was done on the main lawn at Wheal Betsy, not long after the house was built. The figures in the painting are Gotch’s friends including Captain Evans who is the hero of the recent film ‘Summer in February’
In June 2014, teacher Margaret Follows engaged a class of children from Newlyn School as art detectives to contribute to the on-going Newlyn Archive project ‘Newlyn at Play’. The detective’s work began on Friday 13 June when Margaret presented the school children with a challenge. Who was Thomas Cooper Gotch? What did he look like and what did he do? Where did he live? When did he live in Newlyn? Why did he enjoy painting twilight celebrations illuminated by Japanese lanterns, like the 1910 painting ‘A Night in June’ shown above?
How did the art detectives investigate this mystery?
On the sunniest day in June 2014, 15 art detectives and their teacher, Ms Fitzgerald, from Newlyn School drove up Chywoone Hill in the school mini-bus. They stopped at the top of the hill. They were equipped with their evidence pack which included photographs of the artist Thomas Cooper Gotch (TCG) and his artist wife Caroline, a photo of Wheal Betsy Cottage in the 1950’s, when daughter Phyllis Gotch owned it, and copies of TCG’s lantern paintings and landscapes of Mounts Bay from Wheal Betsy.
What would they discover?
At the entrance to Wheal Betsy they were met by the very jovial and welcoming owner Ron Hogg. The art detectives stood on the front steps just as Thomas Gotch stood, they explored the beautiful garden and walked in the artist’s footsteps, experiencing where he painted ‘Night in June’ and ‘The Birthday Party’. They discovered where Thomas Gotch must have painted his wonderful landscapes of Mount’s Bay. They even found one of Thomas Gotch’s original paintings inside the house. Questions were numerous and thought provoking as they quizzed Ron about the life and times of Thomas Gotch whilst he lived in Wheal Betsy, a stunning Art & Crafts House. But the highlight of the visit for everybody was the picnic in the garden, playing on the swinging tree seats and discovering the tree house just as Phyllis and her friends might have done more than 100 years ago.
Thanks to the Coop. Above Ron Hogg (treasurer) and Tom Lodge (Vice chairman) recieve a cheque for £500 from the Co-op towards the 2014 archive project, ‘When Newlyners walked to Lamorna’
It is only five months into 2014 but the Archive can celebrate achieving our funding target for the project which we have called ‘When Newlyners walked to Lamorna’. The photo was taken last Friday (May 23 2014) in the Mount’s Bay Room at Trinity when a cheque for £500 was handed over to chairman David Tredinnick and treasurer Ron Hogg by Tamas Haydu. Tamas, who is the Development Director of the Cornwall Community Foundation of which the Cornwall 100 Club is part, took the photograph. The other three people in the photo are Scott Bentley who is one of the sponsors of the 100 club, and Friends of the Archive Pete Joseph and Richard Seville Barnes. The Cornwall 100 Club comprises 100 businesses that have come together to financially support Cornish communities, ‘making a real, positive and measurable difference within our beautiful county’.
The £500 from the Cornwall 100 Club was part of £5000 for which we sought funding. We have been very fortunate to have also received £3000 from the Heritage Lottery, £500 from the Co-operative Membership Community Fund, £300 from Cornwall Council, £250 from the Q Fund, £250 from the Lamorna Society, £150 from Penzance auctioneers Lane & Sons, and £100 from Penzance Council. We are very grateful to our sponsors for making our very exciting project possible.
So what does the project involve?
First we are doing a great deal of work reorganising the archives. Two major archives have been joined to the Newlyn Archive recently (the West Cornwall Art Archive and the Lamorna Archive) and it has become very necessary to rationalise these in terms of cataloguing and displaying material so that it more easily accessible to our Friends, members and local communities. The new catalogues will not be up and running for a while yet but eventually there will be three distinct areas in the archive, each with its own catalogue. The Newlyn Catalogue will contain material about the history of Newlyn and its people, particularly its relationships with the sea and fishing. It will continue to keep information about PZ fishing boats and their crews. The Lamorna Catalogue will contain material about the history of the Lamorna Valley, its river and quay, and the history of the people (including artists, writers and visitors) who have lived there. It will also document the history of the Lamorna Society and its members and activities. The Art Catalogue will contain the huge collection of material about aspects of West Cornwall’s Art History, past and present that was part of the West Cornwall Art Archive and add to this the unique collections of material previously held in the Newlyn Archive about the Newlyn Colony of Artists and in the Lamorna Archive about the Lamorna Colony of Artists.
Secondly, we have a number of new ventures aimed to improve our three collections. 1. We have been copying a number of historical tapes kindly provided by Douglas Williams into a digital form so that they can be transcribed. Once this is done, Douglas will be producing a book about them. 2. Pam Lomax is editing the third of our series of Archive books which is about Newlyn at Play. The book covers the period from the end of the nineteenth century until the immediate post war years and will include harbour sports and regattas, carnivals, choirs, amateur dramatics and much else. The book will be available in October. We hope that anyone with stories or photographs that could be included will contact Pam. 3. Margaret Follows is liasing with teachers at Tolcarne School to give the children an opportunity to participate in a project on the theme of Newlyn at Play. 4. Anne Forrest (who is the current chair of the Lamorna Society as well as a Friend of the Newlyn Archive) is interviewing people in the community about The Good Friday Walk to Lamorna. She tells us that ‘the origin of this old tradition is as obscure as it is fascinating’. Many of the ninety-year olds she has spoken to remember their parents and grandparents telling of travelling from Penzance, Paul, Mousehole, Newlyn and St Buryan to walk to Lamorna on this day, but no-one seems to know when it started. ‘Was there a religious significance – the distance of the walk being similar to that of the Way of the Cross, the journey Christ took to Calvary? Was the possibility of finding a rare Lamorna Cross stone, too tempting to miss on this Holy Day? Was it just an opportunity for friends to congregate and enjoy each other’s company on the one day the men would be off work, capitalising on a family day out? Or was it an eagerly awaited opportunity for boy to meet girl? It’s thought that perhaps young ladies went to display their Easter bonnets and the young men to admire them… Maybe because Spring is heralded early in the little valley and as ‘in the Spring a young man’s fancy turn to love’ what better place than Lamorna to enjoy Nature’s reawakening…’
The answers to these questions may be revealed at the two-day Open Day at Trinity Centre on October 3-4 2014 which will mark the completion of the project.
BUT THERE ARE OTHER EVENTS AT THE ARCHIVE BEFORE THAT. Transcribing old tapes or talking to people who remember taking part in the Good Friday Walk has uncovered other reminiscences about the past from people who said that Newlyn or Lamorna was where they ‘belong to be’. Belonging to Be is the title of the next Newlyn Archive Open Day on July 19 2014. Belonging to Be is about the places where we belong and the people that inhabit them.
Thanks to our sponsors for 2014:
One of the delights of Newlyn Archive exhibitions is the willingness of visitors to contribute their own treasured memories and valuable information to the rich variety of displays. This happened at the latest two-day event, Newlyn and the Sea, held on Friday and Saturday 11-12 April 2014 at Trinity Centre in Newlyn. Poignant and evocative photographs prompted many of the 300 attendees to add their comments and family recollections to the developing fund of archive material already available.
The rich heritage of Newlyn’s relationship with the sea was magnificently illustrated by fascinating photographic displays and informative captions. The lives of Newlyn’s master mariners, the epic voyages of The Rosebud and The Mystery, the vital role played by the post war Stevenson’ trawler fleet, the bravery of lifeboat crews and stories of shipwrecks and smuggling, captured the interest of viewers and, as ever, provoked animated discussion. A remarkable film record of the tragic loss of the Penlee lifeboat, along with an account of the vital role of The Fishermen’s Mission provided a sad reminder of the sacrifice many have made in coming to the aid of our brave seamen.
A welcome addition to our numbers came from a well organised visit from the Cornwall Women’s Institute. More than ninety of its members enjoyed tours of the town conducted by five Friends of the Archive. The visitors relished the opportunity to explore some of Newlyn’s quaint streets and to discover more about the town’s rich history. Pam Lomax gave an excellent lecture to the visitors on both afternoons. Many were prompted to plan further visits to explore the area at their leisure. Several wrote, ‘I’ll be back to explore more’ and commented on ‘lovely glimpses of the past’.
Alongside the exhibition there was a new and used book stall and a cake stall that offered some much appreciated temptations. (The mint cup cake rivalled its imitators at the National Gallery in London!) Saturday was a busy day for those who run the Centre and we were grateful for the support and refreshments provide by Jerry and his friendly assistants.
One visitor summed up the exhibition by commenting that it had whetted her appetite for further study. There can be no better measure of the success of an exhibition and it highlights one of the important roles of any archive. (Review from AG).
The next Open Day NEWLYN and the SEA on Friday & Saturday April 11-12 2014, 10.00-3.00 at Trinity Centre Newlyn is a two-day event so we hope everyone can get there. The exhibition of old photos and historical memorabilia deals with the many facets of Newlyn’s relationship with the sea.
We have done a lot of work getting together the story of the Lifeboats that served Newlyn, originally based at Penzance and Wherrytown, then at Newlyn for a short period (1907-1913) then at Penlee Point for 23 years and then back to Newlyn in 1983.
The old photo above shows where the Lifeboat was located at Wherrytown in the very early days. The coastguard station is on the left and the row of cottages on the right was sometimes called Coastguards Row. Below you can see the old Lifeboat ‘Richard Lewis’, which was stationed at Wherrytown 1865-1884 with the coastguard station behind.
The exhibition also contains items about the old Admiralty Boathouse at Newlyn which once housed the rocket wagon, the Newlyn Fishermen’s Mission, famous boats like the Mystery and the Rosebud, the Stevenson fishing fleet, the homes of Newlyn’s Master Mariners and many other things. Do put the date in your diary.
Linda Holmes photo of the shore off Newlyn Green (above) shows what looks like a remnant of a petrified tree exposed by the storms of February 2014. James T Blight, writing in 1876, described a forest that may have extended along the coast to St Michael’s Mount, which was ‘a hoare rock in a wood’ and five or six miles from the sea; the bay was said to have been a plain, formed into parishes, each having its church, and laid out in meadows, corn-fields, and woods’; Blight also recorded that some people thought that the story was ‘monkish fable’. But the story remained embedded in local consciousness and in 1884, the Reverend Wladislaw Somerville Lach-Szyrma, also argued that there was evidence of a flood that had covered a forest and an ancient town.
The Last Open Day
There was a buzz of activity at the last Open Day, ‘Those that Got Away: Newlyn’s Migrants’, despite a much lower attendance than usual, only 69 people managed to get along. The problem was the horrendous weather and the storms of the previous few days. Despite this, visitors seem to have had an enjoyable experience and the archive had a very productive day with many people sharing new information. We aimed to raise money as part of matched funding towards a bid we are making to the Heritage Lottery for the new project we have called ‘When Newlyners walked to Lamorna’ which involves the integration of the Lamorna Archive with the Newlyn Archive. In raising money, Amanda Thompson’s cake stall and David Tredinnick’s book stall were very successful, the former raising £80 and the latter £37. If we are successful with the lottery bid, the project will start on May 1st.
New Project, 2014
The new project aims to enhance archive facilities and broaden the community that makes use of these facilities by integrating a new dimension into the existing Newlyn Archive. The new dimension is about the Lamorna Valley and its artists, many of the latter with strong associations with Newlyn. The project will start on May 1st and concludes with a two-day event to be held in October 2014 at Trinity Centre. The two–day event will focus on the links between Newlyn and Lamorna, particularly those involving the Newlyn and Lamorna Colonies of Artists that emerged at the end of the nineteenth century and in the first part of the twentieth century. We hope to involve many groups in the community including school children and we will be recording oral histories from those with good memories.
The next open Day on Saturday 15 February 2014 10.00-3.00 tells the story of Newlyn’s migrants. Some men left to make their fortune and did not get back, leaving behind grieving women and children; others were more successful and were joined by their families to make a better life in the new world; some returned much richer and named their homes after foreign places.
One such man was Joseph Johns Hichens (1866-1924) who built a double fronted granite house called Kenilworth on Buccas Pass, the new road between Newlyn Bridge and Jack Lane. (The photo shows JJ Hichens in later life playing the first wood on Penlee Bowling Green).
The house was named after a place in South Africa called Kenilworth, where Joseph Johns Hichens worked as a young man. As a boy, Joseph lived at Penguin House on St Peters Hill. He came from a long line of fishermen, being the second son of William Hichens, who was master and net owner of the fishing boat Dove. His middle name ‘Johns’ was his mother’s maiden name.
He married Edith Richards from Chapel St in 1889 and some time after the birth of their second son, he joined the diamond rush to South Africa, alongside many other cousin Jacks and Jennies from Cornwall, and became tangled up in the Second Boer War.
He was at the diamond-mining town of Kimberley when it was besieged by the Boers from October 14, 1899 to February 15, 1900. There were at least three men from Newlyn in Kimberley during the siege. Joseph Hichens must have been fairly influential in Kimberley because he managed to send a post office telegram from Kimberley to local fish salesman, BJ Ridge, giving news that self, Harding and Wells had survived the Kimberley siege.
When Joseph returned to Newlyn he was full of the lucrative spoils of his South African adventure and this must have been used to purchase a substantial part of Chirgwin’s Orchard, on both sides of the newly built Buccas Pass. He was engaged in a number of property deals leading in November 1905 to submitting plans for the substantial 8-room granite house in Buccas Pass. Hichens named it Kenilworth as a memorial to Cecil Rhodes who was instrumental in organizing the defence of Kimberley and during the long siege had opened his own house, named Kenilworth to his countrymen.
Do come and find out more about JJ Hichens and the many other Newlyners who sought their fortunes abroad.
The Photograph shows Jean Lodge with new member Bob Mason and archivist Pam Lomax looking at some of the duplicate archive material being offered to Friends in exchange for a donation. The Open Day ‘Newlyn Art Industries’ attracted 152 people and was a huge success. Apart from the usual informative display of text and photographs telling the story of Newlyn’s art industries there were also some private collections on display including Newlyn Copper from Betty and Goff Johns, and from Mike Richards, jewellery and enamel from Red Simpson, and pottery from Ann Pilcher.
David Tredinnick, Newlyn Archive chairman gave his report to Friends at the Newlyn Archive AGM, held on Saturday after the Open Day. He noted the increase of archive holding over the year and welcomed the increased coverage made available by the new Lamorna section of the archive. He reported that the four open days held in 2013 had made the archive available to 697 visitors. The Open Days had been very popular, he said, and explained that there are no charges for admission, so that it is available to anyone who might want to come. ‘We prefer to rely for funds on the people who become Friends of the Archive at £5 per year, and on the sale of our books, Newlyn at War (of which there are only a few left) and Newlyn at School. We will be producing another book next year, Newlyn at Play and we hope that everyone will buy a copy of this.’ He ended his report by asking Friends if they had any cine film or video material of events at Newlyn or Lamorna, for the archive to copy as it now had a technical officer whose skills enabled the transfer of audio tape to CD, and old films and videos to DVD. David ended by thanking other committee members for all their hard work, Jerry and his staff at the Centre for their support and all Friends of the Archive for their crucial annual £5 and for their donations of material that made the archive so interesting and worthwhile.
Saturday Night Out
‘The tales captivated the audience, whose appreciation was reflected in a steady stream of laughter and rapturous applause’. This is what Andrew Gordon said in his review of the annual Newlyn Archive entertainment that took place at the Newlyn Art Gallery on the Saturday evening of the Open Day. Members of Lowen Group entertained Friends of the Archive with dramatised readings of two Cornish stories written by Randle Hurley, adapted by Goff Johns, and introduced by Les Bailey.
CWOP was a delightfully amusing tale exploring the social etiquette surrounding the prospect of earning a ‘divi’ at the local Co op. The expectations of new customer Jacka (David Tredinnick) egged-on by his wife (Betty Johns) and aunt (Liz Harman) were soon dashed when Jacka failed to use the correct membership number and his divi was paid into the account of his snobbish neighbour (Diane Tredinnick). Cwop shop staff included butcher (Jerry Drew) and cashier (Margaret Williams).
In Romance the challenges of pursuing a courtship were highlighted when an aging spinster (Liz Harman), aided by her friend and confidante (Betty Johns) set out to trap a ‘good’ man (Jerry Drew), aided by his close friend (David Tredinnick).
In 1891, the Cornish Telegraph named Barret (sic) and Pezzack as the main teachers of the Industrial Class, assisted by Mackenzie, Bramley, Gotch and Craft, who all taught the classes in the first four months of 1891. Norman Garstin, writing in the Studio in 1896, some six years after they had started, identified a school master, a rich man, and a telegraph clerk as the founders of the classes but does not name them. Two years later (1896), Stanhope Forbes named Thomas Bedford Bolitho along with Thomas Cooper Gotch and Percy Craft as being the founders of the industrial classes. Presumably all these men played a part but the main force must have been the powerful Thomas Bedford Bolitho who provided the initial capital and the premises in the Fradgan.
The next Newlyn Archive Open Day on November 16 2013 explores the origin and development of the Newlyn Industrial Classes into the Newlyn Art Metal Industry and Goff and Betty Johns show some of the amazing copper work produced by Goff’s grandfather Thomas Batten, who was one of the craftsmen who took the work forward in the period between the two wars.
We also explore Newlyn’s world-famous potteries including RT Dick’s Pumcetto pottery, Maggi Fisher’s Celtic Pottery, Alan Brough’s pottery in Duke St, Dennis Lane’s Newlyn Harbour Pottery at 58 Strand, Peter Ellery’s Tremaen Pottery on the Norrad Slip and Benny Sirota and Leslie Illsey’s Troika Pottery in the Fradgan. You will be able to listen to some old gramophone records made by Barbara Wootton née Ellery who once worked at Tremaen Pottery.
Alongside metal work and pottery, Newlyn is famous for its sculptors, enamelling on gold and silver, the old Newlyn Press, Alec Walker’s Cryséde and much else.
Come and browse through our display albums and share your knowledge about the Newlyn Art Industries with us, to help plug the gaps in our archive knowledge. Entry is free. Refreshments are available. You can also purchase our books and surplus archive ephemera.
And in the evening
Join us for the Annual Entertainment at the Newlyn Gallery on 16/11/2013, 7-9pm. Join us for two very funny Cornish readings, The Coop and Romance by Randle Hurley. Goff Johns introduces Randle Hurley’s work and David Tredinnick directs some of your favourite local actors. Refreshments available. Free entry to Friends of the Archive. £5 visitors.
Cynthia ‘Mary’ Llewellyn (1936-2013) had been living in Australia for 55 years when she made contact with the Newlyn Archive in 2012. She attended Tolcarne School and was able to contribute to the book Newlyn at School. We began to correspond. She said that she would send us the family bible which is particularly interesting because it begins with an entry from her grandmother who was Annie Eliza Webb née Warren (1864-1925). As a young woman Annie modelled for some of the most iconic of the Newlyn School paintings; she is the young woman leaning against the boat in Stanhope Forbes Fish Sale on a Cornish Beach and the young widow resting on her mothers lap in Frank Bramley’s Hopeless Dawn.
Unfortunately Mary died earlier this year but true to her promise she willed the family bible and many other family papers and photographs to the Newlyn Archive. We received them at the beginning of August and what a treasure the parcels contained.
The photograph at the top is a picture of her grandmother Annie Eliza with her 4 children Eliza Jane, Mary Annie, Beatrice Theodora and Elizabeth Ivy, that was taken c1904. Annie had grown up in Newlyn living ‘out the Green’ at Factory Row until she married ‘Jack’ Webb (1849-1910) a miner on February 21 1897 and went to live in Camborne. Times were hard and Jack became a migrant worker and had joined the gold rush in South Africa when the photo was taken. It is a poignant reminder of the emotions felt by the wives left at home that the space between Annie and Eliza Jane in the photo was for her husband to fill on his return.
In those days, there was little contact between people who were geographically apart as many people were unable to write. Annie Eliza could write, but not fluently (there is a letter from Annie to daughter Elizabeth Ivy in Australia, dated 20/4/1925, just four days before she died). Husband Jack must have been in touch as Annie had a photograph of him at a mine in South Africa, taken soon after he had left Cornwall.
By 1907, Annie was back in Newlyn, needing the support of her family. She had lost contact with Jack and the Rev Fagan at St Peter’s Church wrote to the manager of the French Rand Gold Mining Co Ltd, where Jack had worked and learned from him (in a letter dated 16/12/1907), that Jack was no longer there. Although a good worker, Jack had turned to alcohol and died in South Africa in 1910 although Annie Eliza did not learn of this until much later.
Mary Llewellyn’s archive contains fascinating letters and photographs about Annie Eliza Warren’s descendents. Mary’s mother was Annie’s daughter Beatrice Theodora who married John Charles Llewellyn. The latter was a stone cutter before becoming a gardener for the Bolitho family at Trewidden. Mary was born at nearby Tregavarah. Her father was a literate man and has left his diary, a 162-page manuscript about his family and life, which includes an account of the bombing of Tregavarah Chapel during WW2.
It might not have been quite the standard of the NADS (Newlyn Artists Dramatic Society) but the team of Friends from the Newlyn Archive who entertained an audience of 24 people at the Acorn Theatre from 3.00-4.00 pm on Wednesday July 17 2013 as part of the Penzance Literary Festival got as much enjoyment from the event as did the audience.
It was Ron Hogg’s first public performance. ‘I have never taken part in a public poetry reading before, standing on a stage, with the spotlight on me and seven other readers. Each of us taking turns to read our various poems, the audience hidden in the outer darkness. One of my poems was by a fishing boat skipper, who told the story of his fishing boat being sunk, his descent into despair and heavy drinking, followed by his re-emergence and triumph of going to sea again and returning with a record catch. Uniquely, our readings were accompanied by pictures from the Archive arranged to illustrate the poems being read. At the finish we were given enthusiastic feedback by members of the audience, including an invitation to perform to a local history group being formed on the Lizard, so “as to show them what can be done”.
Andrew Gordon has performed before but he found reading the works of a renowned local poet in his presence was not easy and was reassured to receive his approval after the performance. ‘It was a pleasure to present a celebration of Newlyn’s past to such an appreciative audience’, says Andrew. ‘The combination of nostalgic and comic verse created by local poets, and the wonderful Newlyn dialect of some of the team of readers (David and Diane Tredinnick, Goff Johns and Liz Harman) created a magic atmosphere, which was enhanced by the pictures that were projected. It was particularly pleasing to hear some of our members unfamiliar with the joys and pressures of performing under the glare of stage lighting (Jean and Tom Lodge, and Ron Hogg) reading poems with such care and clarity. Readers and listeners enjoyed the afternoon and that is the only measure of success which really matters’.
Newlyn’s fishing industry has always responded vigorously to changing economic, political and demographic demands. The first two-day Newlyn Archive exhibition on July 5-6 2013, gave visitors an opportunity to enjoy a display of the industry’s proud past. As ever, the collection of material provoked animated discussion. Photographs of individual boats were set alongside those of a harbour filled with the extensive fleet which regularly brought a rich harvest back to Newlyn. Images of the development of the fish market were reminders of the busy early mornings by the quay as auctioneers ‘rattled’ through the sales and market workers loaded carts and lorries in readiness for the long journey to London and beyond.
As well as the exhibition boards, visitors could marvel at the model fishing boats (including PZ 87 Rosebud) loaned by Raymond Peake, who has provided a great deal of information to the archive and visited the open day on Saturday. Many of the other 263 visitors that we counted for this two-day event were able also to make valuable additions to the Archive’s records by adding or correcting information; not surprising given the background of some of our visitors who included fishermen and boat masters, the harbour master Andrew Munson, ‘Patch’ Harvey the current coxswain of the Penlee Lifeboat, Matt Harvey from W Harvey & Sons, Billie Stevenson (who knows more about Newlyn fishing boats than anyone else) and his daughter Elizabeth, both from W Stevenson & Sons.
We also had two very knowledgeable visiting experts taking part in the open day. Mike Buttery was on hand with his extensive lists of PZ Fishing Boats, his beautifully crafted plaques and some marvellous anecdotes concerning the pre-eminence of Mousehole’s fishing industry in times past! Maurice Bishop brought some of his collection of Newlyn Harbour photographs, taken over a period of 40 years and also his book of fishing boat Tallies, which was both envied and admired by many.
Other members of the Archive Committee were also on hand. Linda Holmes, who is compiling extensive records of PZ registered boats, was busy collecting additional information and anecdotes about the boats and their crews from people whose families had been associated with fishing for generations. Denton Harvey was available to receive old video material that he will copy to DVDs for the archive’s growing collection of film material. He was also able to show visitors some fascinating film clips of fishing boats at sea and the old ice works in operation. The rest of the archive committee helped with people’s enquiries, while the faithful group of Friends who help man the door at these events were kept extra busy, and on the Saturday Jerry Drew was helped by the Newlyn Guides in providing delicious pasties and much appreciated tea and coffee. (Andrew Gordon, 14/7/2013)
AN ENTERTAINMENT FROM THE NEWLYN ARCHIVE at The Acorn, Penzance Wednesday July 17 2013 3.00-4.00pm. Tickets £2 at the door. The Poetry is read alongside a slide show of old photographs and paintings from the Newlyn Archive and paintings by the Newlyn Colony of Artists
A Programme of Poems & Pictures
AW Rablan, Hurrah for the Lads of Newlyn. Liz Harman, My love is a blue-eyed Cornishman. Liz Harman, Departure. Liz Harman 1943. Frank Ruhrmund, Night. Fred Steele, Resurrection. AT Bond, Pilchards: a memory. Frank Ruhrmund, Brother John. Charles Kingsley, The Three Fishers. Ben ‘Benny’ Batten, Hopeless Dawn. Liz Harman, Moored Up. Anon, Newlyn Kaleidoscope. Frank Ruhrmund, This is my town. Frank Ruhrmund, Granny. Anon, Miss Phyllis. Anon, Song of a Newlyn Fisherman. Jolly Roger, A Ballad of Tolcarne Inn. Dave Barron, The Storm. Penny Lally, Ode to an ice-cream. Charles Parke, We’re 80 years old. Ben ‘Benny’ Batten, Buccas Computer. Ann Pilcher, The Housewife. Ann Pilcher, Home Kitchen. Liz Harman, ‘Eavy Cake. Ben Batten, Cornish Heaven.
The next Newlyn Archive Open Day is on Friday July 5 and Saturday July 6, 9.30-3.30 at Trinity Centre Newlyn. Unusually, this is a two-day event, and the focus is a key area of Newlyn History, Fishing out of Newlyn. Way back in the 1960s, when Newlyn Archivist Pam Lomax was a student at London University, she undertook an assignment on fishing and discovered that Newlyn was the most important fishing port in England. At that time she knew little else about Newlyn! Hopefully, the younger generation of today can learn a lot about their fishing heritage from the forthcoming Open Day with its extensive exhibition about the harbour, the fish market, and the fishing boats and their skippers and crews (including the famous PE 233 Mystery and PZ 87 Rosebud).
Many of the photographs come from the collections of people whose history is closely tied to Newlyn. From Billy Stevenson’s collection are pictures of fishing boats like FR 242 Efficient, which was converted by the Stevenson family for trawling in 1938, and became PZ 513 Excellent after the war. These photos are accompanied by fascinating stories and anecdotes about the history of the boat and its crews.
From Margaret Williams’ collection is a picture of the Newlyn fisherman’s choir that sung at Whitby in 1885 to raise funds to build the South Pier, alongside other pictures of the building of Newlyn Harbour.
Maurice Bishop’s photographs of the Newlyn fishmarket taken during his forty-year service there include some remarkable photographs of Princess Diana’s visit to open the new Fish Market. His interest in fishing boats also led to his fascinating collection of boat tallies which identify the fishing boats that have unloaded their cargo at the fish market, which will also be on show.
Alongside the exhibition, visitors can look at some of our archive display books showing the growing PZ Fishing Boat data base which Linda Holmes is developing. Denny Harvey will be on call with advice about how to get your old video tapes copied for the archive. There will also be films about Newlyn, a quiz linked to the exhibition for youngsters, the book stall manned by Liz Harman and visitor Mike Butts, and some knowledgeable old Newlyners who are happy to share their memories.
Sadly we have heard of the death of Mary Llewellyn who many Friends of the Archive will remember from their schooldays at Tolcarne School in the immediate post-war period.
The minute book of the Newlyn Society of Artists 1924-1929 has been acquired for the West Cornwall Art Archive which is now part of the Newlyn Archive. This is the only minute book that was missing from the complete set. The original minute books are stored at Penlee House Museum and Art Gallery but will be included in the Newlyn Archive Catalogue in due course.
Church, Chapel and Playtime, Saturday April 27 2013
The ‘rude’, ‘gaping’, Newlyners addressed by John Wesley in 1747 were soon silenced by what they saw and heard. By contrast their successors, present day Newlyners, responded with animated discussions and delight as they viewed the latest exhibition mounted by the Newlyn Archive. ‘Church Chapel and Playtime’ celebrated a period in the history of Newlyn when the spiritual, social and leisure time of villagers centred largely on chapel and church activities. It recalled a time when Sundays were reserved for chapel, Sunday-best clothes and rest from labour, while weekdays and holidays were punctuated by choir practise, edifying bible study, lectures and memorable outings to local beauty spots. Fascinating displays of photographs and illustrations set alongside contemporary records and explanatory notes, generated lively discussion and pleasure as many visitors were able to assist in identifying locations and family connections.
Church, Chapel, and Playtime was the second of our scheduled Open Days at Trinity Centre for 2013. 144 people visited the Exhibition no doubt encouraged by our growing reputation, the attractive poster and the preview that was printed in the Western Morning News. Thanks to Jerry Drew, the hall at Trinity was enlivened by the magnificent banner created nearly one hundred years ago for the Wesleyan Band of Hope. As well as the usual excellent display of photos and information, Douglas Williams showed his personal collection of material related the Ebenezer and Centenary Chapels, which included two original chapel minute books. An innovation this time was to set up a table just for the sale of books, overseen by Liz Harman; a second table was manned by Den Harvey who armed with two laptops was ready to supply information at the click of the mouse; a third table was occupied by an interesting display of photos of Trinity ‘Bright Hour’.
The most remarkable ‘exhibit’ was the beautifully designed and created ‘Sanctuary’. As part of the church fabric, the sanctuary provides a focus for worship at Trinity. The immense skill and thought which lay behind its creation blended references to the local area, including the fishing industry, Cornish wildlife and landscape, with the symbolism of Christian belief. In an exhibition highlighting the past, it was good to see an area created for the pleasure and spiritual benefit of the current generation of Newlyn worshippers. Julian Drew, Victoria Reed, Michael Johnson and David Need have created a significant contribution to the heritage of present and future Newlyners. (Thanks to Andrew Gordon and David Tredinnick for this review)
NEWS FLASH Fishing Out of Newlyn
The next Open Day is a 2-day event at Trinity on Friday and Saturday 5 and 6 July 2013 10-3.30. We will be exploring the history of fishing at Newlyn, the development of Newlyn as a major UK Fishing Port, the infra-structure that emerged to support this, and the people involved. We will also have available our display books on PZ fishing boats. If anyone has anything to contribute to this Open Day please contact Pam Lomax on email@example.com or Linda Holmes on 01736 364537.
NEWS FLASH Put the Date in Your Diary
The Newlyn Archive is organising a slide show of paintings and old photographs with poetry at The Acorn Theatre, Penzance on Wednesday, July 17 2013, 3-4pm as part of the 2013 Literary Festival. The picture show depicts work and play; celebration and mourning; war and peace; and achievement and failure. It is accompanied by a reading of poetry mainly by local poets including Batten, Barron, Bond, Harman, Kingsley, Parke, Pilcher, Rablan, Ruhrmund.
The next Archive Open Day, Church, Chapel and Playtime on Saturday 27 April 2013, 10.00-3.30 at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn, provides a history of the churches, chapels and other religious institutions that have existed in Newlyn from earliest times until the post-war period and describes their role in the social life of Newlyn.
The location of the Open Day is the main hall in the old Wesleyan Sunday school built in Jack Lane in 1912 alongside the older Chapel built in 1832. When the Sunday school was converted into Trinity Centre in 2007, a new Sanctuary was built opening from the main hall. This will be open during the Open Day and visitors will have the opportunity to see the wonderful woodwork, copper work & stained glass used to create it by local craftsmen David Need (carpentry), Michael Johnson (copper) & Victoria Reid (stained glass). Included in the exhibition will be photographs showing how the work was installed. There will also be a display of relevant artefacts including the stone-laying implements used to build Trinity Sunday School. Visitors may also watch the short film, Songs of Praise, in which the Newlyn Male Choir (based at Trinity) sings at the (then) new Fish Market.
The main exhibition covers the history of the Anglican Church of St Peter’s, the Wesleyan Chapel at Trinity and the two Primitive Methodist Chapels, the Ebenezer in Boase Street and Centenary at Bellevue; it explores the role that these institutions have played in the educational and social life of the Newlyn community. There are also exhibition boards about Paul Church, Sancreed Church, Methodist Chapels at Mousehole, the Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen and the Fishermen’s Rest at Newlyn Town.
Our first Open Day of 2013 Painters and Posers was a great success, with 138 people enjoying the Exhibition and a great deal of good feedback. We much appreciated the contribution made by the visiting exhibitors: Penlee House with its exhibition of photos of fishwives, Alan Shears with his fine collection of costumes and other artefacts, and the mind-provoking activity What do you love about Cornwall? Many people were delighted and intrigued by the film made by Aidan Doyle from Penpol School, Hayle, showing pupils from the school interacting with some of the paintings at Penlee House. His use of electronic wizardry enabled the ‘posers’ in some well known paintings to come to life and talk about the picture, before stepping back into the picture. We were very pleased to receive a lot of interesting new material for the archive and our thanks go to all those who have donated, let us copy or shown us interesting items. Thanks also to our sponsors who are listed on the programme.
News Flash: We have completed the evaluation for our HLF grant and HLF have released the final £1500 grant and signed us off!
News Flash: The review of the year 2012 is finished and you can download it from the website.
News Flash: We are continually updating our archive list so please look at the section that interests you. The date on the bottom will tell you if it has been updated since you last viewed it.
News Flash: Newlyn Archive are a partner to the Newlyn Works project which is going to work with teenagers in Newlyn on a range of heritage projects. There are lots of partners to the project including, Three Villages Youth Club, The Copperworks, Newlyn School of Art, Ebb and Flow, and The Centre. The project is being co-ordinated by Kernow Education Arts Partnership working with local consultants Perfect Moment and a bid for project funding will be put into the Heritage Lottery Fund Young Roots project at the end of February.
News Flash: We are preparing the next Open Day, Church, Chapel and Playtime and would welcome new material for it.
Saturday March 2, 2013 10.00-3.30 at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn TR18 5AP
David Tredinnick coined the term ‘posers’ for the models of the Newlyn artists, past and present.
The exhibition explores the conflicting claims about the identity of some of the ‘posers’. Stories about ‘posers’ who made the headlines, such as Eileen O’Henry (who posed for TC Gotch and Laura Knight) and was shot and killed by her jealous lover John Currie in 1914, or Swedish-born artist Rolf Jonsson (married to ‘poser’ Annie Payne) who was jailed for spying from The Chalet in the Ropewalk at Newlyn in 1915. Continue reading “Painters and Posers”
The recent Newlyn Archive Open Day, The Shops that Grandma Used and the Pubs where Grandpa Drank was a huge success with nearly 200 people visiting the exhibition in the five hours it was open. We also had the most successful day this year with respect to donations, with visitors giving almost £140 to the Archive.
Of great excitement was the launch of the new book, Newlyn at School. We have already sold 154 of the 500 books printed and thanks to the sponsorship of Barnes Thomas (www.barnesthomas.co.uk) have already covered the cost of producing the book, which means that the profits of future sales go to maintaining the archive.
One of the reasons why the project on shops was such a great success is the generosity of local shopkeepers whose sponsorship of the project has raised £330 for the archive. We hope that our rolling picture show is a thank you to our sponsors.
The Shops Project was also sponsored by part of the £3000 grant from The Heritage Lottery Fund and from a £250 grant made by The Co-operative Membership Community Fund.
The Shops that Grandma Used and the Pubs where Grandpa Drank
November 17, 2012 10.00-3.00 at Trinity Centre, Chywoone Hill, Newlyn TR18 5AR
Download the PDF of the event the-shops-that-grandma-used.pdf
Do you know which shops your grandma used? Are they still there today? Today’s Newlyn shops have helped to sponsor this Open Day, which is the fourth and final Newlyn Archive Open Day of the year and it will be the most exciting. Our Archive detectives have been busily searching for evidence of the shops, cafés, restaurants and inns that existed in the past. We have found many premises that were once shops and now we need your help to identify the shopkeepers and innkeepers that kept them. Continue reading “The shops that grandma used”
A PROJECT set up to integrate the West Cornwall Art Archive into the Newlyn Archive and make its contents available to a wider audience has received much-needed funding to support it over the coming year. The Newlyn Archive, which operates the project, has been given £3,000 by the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) as well as £1750 from the Trustees of the old West Cornwall Archive and £250 from local benefactors.
The West Cornwall Art Archive is a collection of documents related to the history of art and artists in Newlyn and other areas of West Cornwall. Formerly housed at the Hypatia Trust, it was officially handed to the Newlyn Archive in April 2012. Volunteers from the 200-strong Friends of the Newlyn Archive are sorting through the material, contained in 60 boxes and a number of filing cabinets, and listing it for integration with existing archival material about Newlyn’s rich art history.